Skip to Main Content

University of Dayton: Football

For more information...

Visit the University of Dayton Archives to gain access to

  • Press books
  • Programs
  • Team records
  • Game files
  • Scrapbooks
  • Photographs

Bowl Games

1951: Salad Bowl Runner up

1980: Stagg Bowl Champion

1981: Stagg Bowl Runner up

1987: Stagg Bowl Runner up

1989: Stagg Bowl Champion

1991: Stagg Bowl Runner up

1993: Sports Network Cup Champion

1996: Sports Network Cup Champion

1997: Sports Newtwork Cup Runner up

1999: Sports Network Cup Champion

2001: Sports Network Cup Runner up

2002: Sports Network Cup Champion

2007: Gridiron Classic Champion

1942 football players

Football team practicing indoors circa 1951

A Brief History of Football

Football at St. Mary's began around 1904 when senior resident students bought a rugby football and began practice and it was quickly stopped by the authorities who believed the sport to be too rough.  Within a few weeks restrictions were lifted and the SMI Regulars developed into a well-trained team.  In 1905 the "rugby mania" took hold of students and the first game against an outsider (Riverdale Athletic Club) was played that fall.  In 1924 the Flyers won three titles: The Catholic College Championship, the Non-Conference Championship, and the team holding the highest point average.  The University of Dayton football team competes in the Pioneer Football League where they have won the PFL Championship eleven times in the eighteen year history of the league. 

1909 Second Division Football Squad

Football game against Ohio Wesleyan 1938

chat loading...