Library Guides: Primary Sources: Images & Video

Image databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
In addition to articles, JSTOR now includes a digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences.

See the guide below for additional links to image resources

Finding and Using Image Resources
by Bridget Retzloff Last Updated Oct 29, 2024 330 views this year

American History in Video This link opens in a new window
This collection provides streaming access to a wide range of historical documentaries and films, covering significant events, figures, and themes in American history for educational use.
This collection provides access to videos focusing on American history including commercial, governmental, and archival footage, newsreels, interviews, speeches and addresses, public service announcements, news stories, lectures, and documentaries. Popular topics include war and violence, political and social movements, international relations, the Depression, WWI, WWII, politics and current affairs, and United States presidents.
March of Time This link opens in a new window
Streaming collection of Time Inc.'s newsreel series of the same name, originally released from 1935-1967. More than 400 videos included.
World History in Video This link opens in a new window
This online collection of streaming video offers access to over 1,750 critically acclaimed documentaries from filmmakers worldwide. Chronological coverage includes films from 1918 onwards.

See the guide below for additional streaming video databases.