U.S. Topics
- Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records This link opens in a new window
The focus is on the political side of the freedom movement, the role of civil rights organizations in pushing for civil rights legislation, and the interaction between African Americans and the federal government in the 20th century. Coverage dates 1901-1991. - Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990: Reduction of Acid Rain, Urban Air Pollution, and Environmental Policy This link opens in a new window
Documents on the promulgation and implementation of the Clean Air Act Amendments (CAAA) of 1990 and other environmental issues including endangered species and protection of American wetlands. Content covers the years 1989-1991.
- National Security and FBI Surveillance of Enemy Aliens This link opens in a new window
From the FBI Headquarters Library, this collection includes the Custodial Detention Index that was formed in 1939-1941, in the frame of a program called variously the "Custodial Detention Program" or "Alien Enemy Control”. - Reconstruction, Jim Crow, and the Enforcement of Federal Law in the South, 1871-1884 This link opens in a new window
This collection the efforts of district attorneys from southern states to uphold federal laws in the states that fought in the Confederacy or were Border States. Includes access to more than 59,000 images from the US National Archives.
- "We Were Prepared for the Possibility of Death:" Freedom Riders in the South, 1961 This link opens in a new window
From the Federal Bureau of Investigation Library, archival material includes surveillance reports, chronologies, witness statements and more. These materials provide insight into the Freedom Rides, the Kennedy administration and the segregated South. Holdings date from 1961 onwards.
