Primary Sources

This collection, as seen through the eyes of the British diplomatic corps in Russia, provides a unique analysis of this "retro-reform" policy, including the increase of revolutionary agitation, deepening of conservatism and changes from agrarian to industrial society, and spread of pan-Slavism, both in the Russian Empire and Eastern Europe. The British Foreign Office Records of General Correspondence for Russia, in record class F.O. 65 is the basic collection of documents for studying Anglo-Russian relations during this period of fundamental change in domestic and international affairs. This collection consists of the bound volumes of correspondence for the 1883 to 1886 period. Materials come from the UK National Archives, and include more than 67,000 images.

This collection of U.S. State Department Central Classified Files relates to commercial and trade relations beginning in the Tsarist Russia period and extending through Khrushchev period in Soviet history. It contains a wide range of materials from U.S. diplomats including materials on treaties, general conditions affecting trade, imports and exports, laws and regulations, customs administration, tariffs, and ports of entry activities. Content includes more than 37,000 images and ranges from 1910-1963. The documents found in this file—predominantly instructions to and dispatches from diplomatic and consular officials—provide valuable information on economic relations between Russia/the Soviet Union and the United States, from the time of the last czar through the later years of Stalin. Also provided are general insights on the period 1918-1933, when the only relations maintained between the United States and the Soviet Union were commercial.

This collection reproduces letters, reports, memorandums, cablegrams, maps, charts, and other kinds of records relating to the activities of the American Expeditionary Forces in Siberia from 1918 to 1920. The bulk of the historical files of the AEF in Siberia consist of war diaries compiled at American Headquarters in Vladivostok. Also included are a number of semiannual, annual, and final reports of operations of the various offices and units comprising the expedition to Siberia and the four Subject Files of the Chief of Staff of the Siberian Expedition, entitled, "Japanese-American Relations," "Civil Affairs," "Field Messages," and, "Allies Orders [from Japanese Headquarters]". Access more than 9,000 images from the US National Archives.

This collection documents the Russian entrance into World War I and culminates in reporting on the Revolution in Russia in 1917 and 1918. The documents consist primarily of correspondence between the British Foreign Office, various British missions and consulates in the Russian Empire and the Tsarist government and later the Provisional Government. Access provided to more than 73,600 images from the National Archives in the United Kingdom.