Library Guides: Primary Sources: International Relations

International Relations

Commercial & Trade Relations Between Tsarist Russia, the Soviet Union & the U.S., 1910-1963 This link opens in a new window
From the U.S. State Department Central Classified Files, these materials relate to commercial and trade relations beginning in the Tsarist Russia period and extending through Khrushchev period. Materials from U.S. diplomats including treaties, general conditions affecting trade, imports and exports, and more. Coverage from 1910-1963.

This collection of U.S. State Department Central Classified Files relates to commercial and trade relations beginning in the Tsarist Russia period and extending through Khrushchev period in Soviet history. It contains a wide range of materials from U.S. diplomats including materials on treaties, general conditions affecting trade, imports and exports, laws and regulations, customs administration, tariffs, and ports of entry activities. Content includes more than 37,000 images and ranges from 1910-1963. The documents found in this file—predominantly instructions to and dispatches from diplomatic and consular officials—provide valuable information on economic relations between Russia/the Soviet Union and the United States, from the time of the last czar through the later years of Stalin. Also provided are general insights on the period 1918-1933, when the only relations maintained between the United States and the Soviet Union were commercial.
European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: French Colonialism in Africa: From Algeria to Madagascar, 1910-1930 This link opens in a new window
This collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities, reporting on the activities of the French colonial government and the activities of the native peoples.

This collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities, reporting on the activities of the French colonial government and the activities of the native peoples. Access provided to more than 17,800 images from the US National Archives. Discover information on topics including political administration of North Africa, political and economic aspects of colonization, political rights and representation, nationality laws, laws governing travel and firearms, public health, pollution of port waters, raw material resources, labor conditions and the labor supply, agricultural regulations, railways, immigration, passports, and many more.
European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: Italian Colonies in North Africa and Aggression in East Africa, 1930-1939 This link opens in a new window
This collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities, reporting on the activities of the Italian colonial governments and later the mandate authorities, and the activities of the native peoples.

The database on European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century focuses on Italian colonies in North Africa and their aggressive policies in East Africa from 1930 to 1939. It provides a rich collection of primary source materials, including correspondence, reports, studies, maps, and other documents related to U.S. consular activities during this period. The collection highlights Italy's colonial governance and social policies shaped by Fascist ideologies, detailing the administration and treatment of local populations in regions such as Libya, Eritrea, and Somalia. Users can explore the complexities of Italian colonial ambitions and the resulting conflicts, particularly in Ethiopia. This resource is invaluable for researchers examining the dynamics of colonialism, international relations, and the socio-political impact on African societies during this tumultuous era.
Foreign Relations between Latin America and the Caribbean States, 1930-1944 This link opens in a new window
This collection covers a range of viewpoints on political, social, and economic issues between Central American and South American countries, and includes cables, memoranda, correspondence, reports, and treaties.
Originally microfilmed as "Records of the Department of State relating to Political Relations between Latin America and the Caribbean States," this collection covers a wide range of viewpoints on political, social, and economic issues between Central American and South American countries, and includes materials such as cables, memoranda, correspondence, reports and analyzes, and treaties. Documents span the following topics: Fascism and Falangism, Worldwide Depression, The Chaco War, Mexican Oil and Nationalization, Central America and the American Businessman, The Good Neighbor Policy, and State Department Central Files. Access more than 105,000 images from the U.S. National Archives.
Foreign Relations Between the U.S. and Latin America and the Caribbean States, 1930-1944 This link opens in a new window
Materials documenting the political relations between the U.S. and countries of Latin America and the Caribbean. It documents the U.S. shift to maintain its influence in Latin America through Pan-Americanism, support for strong local leaders, the training of national guards, economic and cultural penetration, Export-Import Bank loans, political subversion, and more.
The "Foreign Relations Between the U.S. and Latin America and the Caribbean States, 1930-1944" database is a comprehensive collection of primary source materials that examines the evolving diplomatic relationships during a critical period in U.S. history. This collection includes documents from the U.S. Department of State's Central Files, encompassing cables, memoranda, correspondence, and reports related to political relations with Central American, South American, and Caribbean nations. It highlights significant events such as the rise of Fascism, the effects of the Great Depression, and the implementation of Franklin D. Roosevelt's "Good Neighbor" policy, which marked a shift from military intervention to diplomatic engagement and economic cooperation. Covering a range of topics from bilateral treaties to cultural exchanges, this resource provides valuable insights into how the U.S. navigated its foreign policy in Latin America during this tumultuous era.
French Mandate in The Lebanon, Christian-Muslim Relations, and the U.S. Consulate at Beirut, 1919-1935 This link opens in a new window
Explores U.S. consular records detailing Christian-Muslim relations in Lebanon during the French Mandate from 1919 to 1935, highlighting political and social dynamics of the period.
This collection consists of correspondence and telegrams received and sent by the American consular post in Beirut between 1919 and 1935. Access more than 9000 images from the US National Archives. The topics covered by these records include the protection of interests of American citizens, foreign trade, shipping, and immigration. There are unique materials on the Druze Rebellion of 1925, religious conflicts between Christian, Maronite, and Muslim communities, repression by French military forces, French efforts to settle Bedouin tribes in Syria, nationalist organizations and rebellion, anti-Zionism activities, riots and civil disturbances in the cities, villages and rural areas, failure of the Franco-Lebanese Treaty of 1936, creation of a new mandate administration in Syria in 1939, the war clouds in Europe, and Palestinian views on Syrian independence.
India from Crown Rule to Republic, 1945-1949: Records of the U.S. State Department This link opens in a new window
This collection identifies the key issues, individuals, and events in the history of the Subcontinent between 1945 and 1949, and places them in the context of the complex and dynamic regional strategic, political, and economic processes that have fashioned India in the postwar period.
This collection identifies the key issues, individuals, and events in the history of the Subcontinent between 1945 and 1949, and places them in the context of the complex and dynamic regional strategic, political, and economic processes that have fashioned India in the postwar period. This collection of U.S. State Department Central Classified Files relating to the internal affairs of India and U.S. relations with India, contain a wide range of materials, including: special reports on political and military affairs; studies and statistics on socioeconomic matters; interviews and minutes of meetings with foreign government officials; full-text of important letters, instructions, and cables sent and received by U.S. diplomatic personnel; voluminous reports and translations from foreign journals and newspapers; and countless translations of high-level foreign government documents, including speeches, memoranda, official reports, and transcripts of political meetings and assemblies. Access to more than 53,800 images from the US National Archives.
Lebanon, Palestine, Syria, Trans-Jordan: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1836-1944 This link opens in a new window
Features U.S. Department of State records detailing diplomatic and consular activities in Lebanon, Palestine, Syria, and Trans-Jordan from 1836 to 1944, offering historical insights.
This collection covers U.S. perspectives on Lebanon, Palestine, Syria, and Trans-Jordan, from Ottoman rule to the era of British and French mandates following the First World War. Access provided to more than 41,600 images from the US National Archives, ranging from 1836 to 1944. Five sub-collections include Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Beirut, Lebanon (1836-1906) and Jerusalem, Palestine (1856-1906); and Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Lebanon, (1930-1944), Syria (1930-1944), and Trans-Jordan (1930-1944).
Saudi Arabia: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1930-1959 This link opens in a new window
From the Central Files of the General Records of the Department of State, this collection documents the formation of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia and illustrates the day-to-day workings of the oil-rich state.
This comprehensive archive provides valuable insights into a critical period of Saudi Arabian history, from its formation to its emergence as an oil-rich state. The collection is divided into two distinct parts: 1930-1944 and 1955-1959. The first part documents the crucial years of the Kingdom's establishment, while the second part offers a detailed look into the day-to-day operations of the oil-wealthy nation. These records, sourced from the Central Files of the General Records of the Department of State in the U.S. National Archives, offer researchers a unique perspective on Saudi Arabia's political, economic, and social development. The database includes diplomatic correspondence, reports, and analyses covering various aspects of U.S.-Saudi relations, regional politics, and internal affairs. It serves as an essential resource for historians, political scientists, and students studying the Middle East, U.S. foreign policy, and the evolution of Saudi Arabia during this transformative period.