Best Bets
The Best Bet sources provide English-language news coverage across the globe over a broad span of time.
The newspaper sources organized by continent / region may often include multiple languages.
The newspaper sources organized by continent / region may often include multiple languages.
- Times Digital Archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new window
This resource is the complete archive of the Times from 1785 to 2019. All issues are displayed as digital page images and all allow full-text searching.
- Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Credible information from a wide variety of international, national, and local news sources.
Global Newspaper Sources, Africa
- African Newspapers, Series 1 This link opens in a new window
Collection of 19th and 20th century newspapers from various African countries. Includes 66 titles, primarily in English.
- Daily Observer Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
The Daily Observer or Liberian Observer is an independent national newspaper founded in 1981. Due to its independent editorial stance, the Daily Observer has been recognized for its coverage of public life. - East African Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Collection provides insight into the East Africans region, featuring key newspapers from the region from the 1940s to the early 2000s. This growing collection currently includes three titles: Daily Nation (Kenya), The Ethiopian Herald, and The Monitor (Uganda). - Middle Eastern & North African Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Publications from across the region from the late nineteenth century through the present. Topics include the decline of colonialism, the collapse of the Ottoman Empire, the Suez Crisis, the rise of the petroleum industry, both World Wars, the establishment of the state of Israel, the Iran-Iraq War, and the recent Arab Spring.
Global Newspaper Sources, Asia
- 19th Century English-Language Journals from the Far East This link opens in a new window
Six English-language journals, five of which were founded by Western missionaries, covering topics such as East-West communication, Christianity in China and other parts of Asia, and China’s political, economic, and cultural landscape. Coverage runs 1817 to 1911. - Current Digest of the Chinese Press This link opens in a new window
A select collection of articles from key Chinese newspapers. Each article is translated into English. Coverage begins January 1, 2012. - Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the newspapers of more than 20 cities published in China from 1911 to 1949. Topics cover Chinese life, culture, and politics throughout the collapse of the Qing Dynasty, the years of provisional government and civil war, and the birth of the People’s Republic.
- Middle Eastern & North African Newspapers This link opens in a new windowIncludes publications from across the region. Topics include the decline of colonialism, the collapse of the Ottoman Empire, the Suez Crisis, the Cold War, the rise of the petroleum industry, twentieth-century pan-Arab movements, both World Wars, the establishment of the state of Israel, the Iran-Iraq War, and the recent Arab Spring.
- South Asian Newspapers This link opens in a new window
The collection is made up of 19th and 20th century newspapers. Contains more than 500,000 pages of content from 10 newspapers published throughout the subcontinent. The primary language of publication is English but some in Bengali or Gujarati. - Southeast Asian Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Newspaper coverage of the region during the 19th and 20th centuries. Covering several countries, including Myanmar (formerly Burma), Indonesia, Philippines, Thailand, and Vietnam, and featuring multiple languages such as Dutch, English, French, Javanese, Spanish, and Vietnamese.
Global Newspaper Sources, Europe
- Current Digest of the Russian Press This link opens in a new windowSelected Russian-language press materials, translated into English with coverage from 1949 to present. the Current Digest was first published as The Current Digest of the Soviet Press (1949-1991), followed by The Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press (1992-2010), and now The Current Digest of the Russian Press.
- Imperial Russian Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Newspapers spanning the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, up to the 1917 Bolshevik Revolution. The collection’s core titles are from Moscow and St. Petersburg, complemented by regional newspapers across the vast Russian Empire. - Local & Independent Ukrainian Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Comprising over 900 titles, this database includes local newspapers from over 340 cities and towns—including publications from each of Ukraine’s 27 regions. Many of the titles are in Ukrainian and Russian and also includes ethnic newspapers. - Post-Perestroika Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This collection traces the evolution of post-Soviet Russia, with coverage beginning in the mid 1980s and extending well into the twenty-first century. Established soon before or soon after the collapse of the Soviet Union, the newspapers in this collection document the changes taking place in Russia. - Soviet-Era Ukrainian Newspapers This link opens in a new window
The SEUN traces the history of Ukraine during the events leading up to WWII. Comprising five titles and over 50,000 pages, SEUN includes newspapers from three cities: Kyiv, Kharkiv, and Lviv. This collection includes newspapers in both Ukrainian and Russian.
- Times Digital Archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new window
This resource is the complete archive of the Times from 1785 to 2019. All issues are displayed as digital page images and all allow full-text searching.
Global Newspaper Sources, Latin America
- El Caribe Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
This Spanish-language daily newspaper is one of the Dominican Republic’s most influential and longest-running newspapers. Founded in 1948, the newspaper has borne witness to decades of political uncertainty, economic development, and social change. - El Mundo Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Founded in 1919, El Mundo was a respected, conservative newspaper from Puerto Rico and was widely considered a key source for news until it ceased in 1990. - Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Access to over 1,000 titles from Mexico's pre-independence, independence, and revolutionary periods (19th-early 20th centuries). Topics include coverage of Mexican partisan politics, yellow press, political and social satire, as well as local, regional, national and international news.
- Latin American Newspapers, Series 1 This link opens in a new window
Includes 19th and 20th century Latin American newspapers featuring titles from Central and South America. Most publications are in Spanish but a significant number in Portuguese and English.
