Primary Sources

With more than 20,000 images from 1967 through 1975, this collection features the FBI reports dealing with every aspect of anti-war work carried out by the Vietnam Veterans Against the War (VVAW), and includes surveillance on a variety of other anti-war groups and individuals, with an emphasis on student groups and Communist organizations. 

This resource provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas. "LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940" highlights the crosssectionality of individuals of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions, political orientations, and geographical locations that constitute the LGBTQ community as a whole.

The Cold War: Voices of Confrontation and Conciliation is a comprehensive online database that provides access to primary source materials documenting the Cold War era. This collection offers a wealth of documents, including declassified government papers, diplomatic correspondence, military reports, and personal accounts from key figures involved in the conflict. Users can explore materials covering major events and tensions between the United States and the Soviet Union, as well as their respective allies, from the end of World War II through the fall of the Berlin Wall. The database features a diverse range of perspectives, including those of political leaders, military strategists, and ordinary citizens affected by the global standoff. With its extensive coverage of Cold War politics, nuclear arms race, proxy wars, and cultural exchanges, this resource serves as an invaluable tool for researchers, students, and historians studying this pivotal period in 20th-century history. It includes more than 1200 images from the private collection of James Thebaut and the Chronicles Group. Materials cover the period from the 1950s through the 1990s.

The County and Regional Histories & Atlases: Ohio database provides access to a comprehensive collection of historical atlases, maps, and county histories covering the state of Ohio. It includes digitized versions of rare 19th and early 20th century county atlases, plat books, and local histories. Users can explore detailed township maps, city plans, and rural landowner maps that show property boundaries and landowner names. The database also contains biographical sketches of prominent citizens, business directories, and historical narratives about Ohio counties and communities. This resource is invaluable for genealogists, historians, and researchers studying Ohio's local history and development. The digitized materials offer high-quality scans of original documents, allowing users to examine intricate map details and read historical accounts. With its extensive coverage of Ohio counties, this database serves as a crucial tool for understanding the state's geographical, social, and economic evolution over time.

Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture, 1790-1920 is a comprehensive digital archive containing over 2 million pages of primary source materials related to crime and its societal impact during the long 19th century. The database offers access to a wide range of documents, including trial transcripts, police reports, newspaper articles, detective novels, true crime literature, and related ephemera. It covers multiple geographic areas, focusing primarily on British and American collections but also including materials from Europe, India, and the Antipodes. The archive features content in various languages, including English, Spanish, French, Italian, and German. Users can explore topics such as the development of police forces, judicial and penal reforms, forensic techniques, and popular culture's fascination with crime. The database employs advanced search capabilities, including Handwritten Text Recognition for manuscript materials, making it an invaluable resource for researchers studying criminal history, law, literature, and social change during this pivotal era

This collection consists mainly of incoming correspondence from the mission field and outgoing correspondence from the Board of Foreign Missions headquarters highlighting information on social conditions in Greater Syria (and Lebanon) and on efforts to spread the gospel during the nineteenth century. Access provided to more than 20,000 images from the Presbyterian Historical Society.

The Hindu Conspiracy Cases: Activities of the Indian Independence Movement in the U.S., 1908-1933 database provides an extensive collection of primary source documents detailing the efforts of Indian nationalists in the United States to promote Indian independence from British rule. This collection includes records from the U.S. Justice Department and National Archives, highlighting activities such as fundraising, arms procurement, and propaganda efforts through publications like the Hindustan Ghadar newspaper. It covers significant events during World War I when Indian nationalists sought to exploit Britain's preoccupation with the war to incite rebellion in India, often with support from the German government. The database features detailed accounts of arrests, trials, and the broader context of anti-colonial sentiment, making it a vital resource for researchers interested in the intersection of American and Indian histories during this pivotal period.

The Motion Picture Association of America (MPAA) Production Code Administration Files collection documents forty years of self-regulation and censorship in the motion picture industry. The Production Code was written in 1929 by Martin J. Quigley, an influential editor and publisher of motion picture trade periodicals, and Reverend Daniel A. Lord, a Jesuit advisor to Hollywood filmmakers. Officially accepted in 1930 by the Motion Picture Producers and Distributors of America (MPPDA), the precursor organization to the MPAA, the Production Code presented guidelines governing American movie production.