Library Guides: Primary Sources: Africa

Africa

European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: French Colonialism in Africa: From Algeria to Madagascar, 1910-1930 This link opens in a new window
This collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities, reporting on the activities of the French colonial government and the activities of the native peoples.
This collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities, reporting on the activities of the French colonial government and the activities of the native peoples. Access provided to more than 17,800 images from the US National Archives. Discover information on topics including political administration of North Africa, political and economic aspects of colonization, political rights and representation, nationality laws, laws governing travel and firearms, public health, pollution of port waters, raw material resources, labor conditions and the labor supply, agricultural regulations, railways, immigration, passports, and many more.
European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: Italian Colonies in North Africa and Aggression in East Africa, 1930-1939 This link opens in a new window
This collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities, reporting on the activities of the Italian colonial governments and later the mandate authorities, and the activities of the native peoples.
The database on European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century focuses on Italian colonies in North Africa and their aggressive policies in East Africa from 1930 to 1939. It provides a rich collection of primary source materials, including correspondence, reports, studies, maps, and other documents related to U.S. consular activities during this period. The collection highlights Italy's colonial governance and social policies shaped by Fascist ideologies, detailing the administration and treatment of local populations in regions such as Libya, Eritrea, and Somalia. Users can explore the complexities of Italian colonial ambitions and the resulting conflicts, particularly in Ethiopia. This resource is invaluable for researchers examining the dynamics of colonialism, international relations, and the socio-political impact on African societies during this tumultuous era.
Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the liberation struggles in Southern Africa, with an emphasis on Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe. Materials document colonial rule, dispersion of exiles, international intervention, and the worldwide networks that supported successive generations of resistance within the region.
This JSTOR collection focuses on the complex and varied liberation struggles in Southern Africa, with an emphasis on Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe. It brings together materials from various archives and libraries throughout the world documenting colonial rule, dispersion of exiles, international intervention, and the worldwide networks that supported successive generations of resistance within the region. There are more than 27,000 serials, documents, images, and books available, published between 1897 and 2009.