Primary Sources

Through letters and diaries, this collection provides access to the immediate experiences of women spanning more than 300 years. From 1696 through 1975, these primary sources document commonplace subjects such as entertainment, health, intellectual life, relationships, domestic life, religions, as well as first-hand experiences through revolutions and wars. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.

Dublin Castle Records: 1798-1926 is an online database that provides access to a crucial collection of documents from the British administration in Ireland during a transformative period leading up to the establishment of the Irish Free State in 1922. This collection includes records from Series CO 904 housed at The National Archives in Kew, UK, encompassing a wide range of materials that reflect the political, social, and economic conditions of Ireland during this era. Users can explore various types of documents, including correspondence, reports, and official communications that detail the administration's responses to significant events such as the rise of political figures like Charles Stewart Parnell and the Land War of 1880. The database serves as an essential resource for historians, researchers, and anyone interested in understanding the complexities of British-Irish relations and the dynamics of governance in Ireland prior to independence.

The industrial mobilization in Britain during World War I, particularly through the Ministry of Munitions established in 1915, was a transformative effort that reshaped the British economy to meet wartime demands. The Ministry was created in response to early shortages of munitions and aimed to centralize and streamline production processes. By coordinating over 15,000 firms, including both government-controlled and private establishments, the Ministry prioritized government contracts and ensured that labor conditions were aligned with wartime needs. This initiative saw significant increases in production capabilities, with munitions output skyrocketing from 500,000 shells in the war's early months to over 50 million shells annually by 1917. The mobilization also highlighted the crucial role of female labor, which increased significantly as traditional male workers enlisted. Overall, this period marked a pivotal shift towards state intervention in industry, laying the groundwork for modern industrial practices and economic management during wartime.

The online resource offers a comprehensive digital collection of Cabinet papers from the Stormont Administration, covering the period from 1921 to 1972. This archive contains the CAB/4 files, which provide a complete record of every debate and transaction during the existence of the Northern Ireland government. Users can access detailed minutes, memoranda, and agendas from Cabinet meetings, reflecting the political and sectarian challenges faced by the administration. The documents cover a wide range of topics, including security issues, economic policies, social needs, and responses to civil unrest during the Troubles. This collection serves as an invaluable primary source for researchers studying Northern Ireland's complex history, governance, and the socio-political dynamics that shaped the region. It provides unique insights into how government decisions were made and implemented in a divided society.

The Papers of Neville Chamberlain is a comprehensive online archive that provides access to the personal and political documents of Neville Chamberlain, who served as British Prime Minister from 1937 to 1940. This collection includes a wide array of materials such as correspondence, speeches, cabinet papers, and diary entries that illuminate Chamberlain's role during a pivotal time in British and world history, particularly leading up to and during World War II. Users can explore detailed records that reflect his policies, diplomatic efforts, and the challenges he faced in addressing the rise of fascism in Europe. The archive serves as a crucial resource for historians, researchers, and students interested in British political history, international relations, and the complexities of leadership during crises. By providing these primary sources, the collection enhances understanding of Chamberlain's legacy and the historical context of his decisions.