Best Bets
- Life Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Extensive collection spanning its very first issue in 1936 through December, 2000 in a comprehensive format.
- New York Times with Index This link opens in a new window
This collection provides access to the entire run of the New York Times from 1851 to almost the present day. Search capability available using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images.
Individual Titles
- Atlantic Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Published since 1857, The Atlantic is one of the nation's oldest monthly magazines covering major issues in politics, foreign affairs, the economy, and cultural trends. - Bloomberg Businessweek Archive This link opens in a new window
Complete digital version of the Businessweek backfile, with coverage starting at the magazine’s first issue in 1929 and ending in 2000. - Chicago Defender This link opens in a new window
Historic African-American newspaper that provides first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events from 1909-1975. - Commonweal This link opens in a new window
This collection is the digital archive of Commonweal. Content dates back to 1924. - Harper's This link opens in a new window
General interest magazine that explores perspectives on politics, society, culture, and the environment through essays, fiction, and reporting. Access includes the current issues as well as an archive back to June, 1850. - HarpWeek This link opens in a new window
This resource provides an electronic index of the Harper's Weekly issues from 1857 to 1871. This period is characterized as the Civil War and the first phase of Reconstruction. - La Follette Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
La Follette's Magazine began in 1909 as La Follette's Weekly Magazine, though it dropped "Weekly" after reducing its publication frequency. In 1929 it was replaced by The Progressive, which continues to publish today. - Nation Archive This link opens in a new window
This archive contains thousands of historic articles, editorials, letters, reviews, poems, and puzzles dating back to the magazine's first issue of the Nation in 1865. - National Geographic Virtual Library This link opens in a new window
Includes access to the National Geographic Magazine Archive, 1888-2015, and a searchable image database - New Republic Archive This link opens in a new window
A digital collection of the prominent political and cultural opinion magazine, covering issues dating back to 1914. Provides full-text, indexing and abstracting. - New Yorker This link opens in a new window
Weekly magazine offering a mix of reporting and commentary on politics, international affairs, popular culture and the arts, science and technology, and business, along with fiction, poetry, humor, and cartoons. Issues archived back to 1925.
- Progressive Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Since 1909, The Progressive, a monthly magazine, has aimed to amplify voices of dissent and those under-represented in the mainstream, with a goal of championing grassroots progressive politics. Content of this archive includes investigative reporting, political commentary, and more.
