Best Bets
The databases listed here include multiple titles or collections on various North American topics. See the subpages for more specialized primary source databases on African American history, Labor history, Women's history, and more.
- Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans This link opens in a new window
Information about life in 17th and 18th century America, including agriculture, foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, and witchcraft, and more. - American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Contains over 1,100 periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and more. - American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection, Series 1 This link opens in a new window
American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912. The fifty thematic subsets include American magazines and journals that provide content detailing American history and culture. - Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500–1926 This link opens in a new window
This digital collection offers a perspective on life in the western hemisphere, encompassing the arrival of the Europeans on the shores of North America from 1500 to 1926. - Archives Unbound This link opens in a new window
35 different digital collections of historical documents covering topics from the 19th and 20th centuries and spanning the globe. - Gale Primary Resources This link opens in a new window
A universal research experience that combines Gale's digital archives in a single cross-search interface. - History Vault This link opens in a new window
Primary source materials from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collection. Includes letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, and more.
Primary Source Index
- Reader's Guide Retrospective 1890-1982 This link opens in a new window
This resource is a digital archive of the Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature. It includes more than 3 million indexed articles from more than 550 magazines. - C19: The Nineteenth Century Index This link opens in a new window
Comprises millions of records and provides access to the most important finding aids for books, periodicals, official publications, newspapers, archives, and reference material. - European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 This link opens in a new window
Archive of indexed publications related to the Americas and written in Europe before 1750. Covers the history of European exploration and portrayals of Native American peoples.
