Library Guides: Primary Sources: Maps & Data

Map Databases

Sanborn Insurance Maps This link opens in a new window
Contains large scale street plans of Ohio cities produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance Company from 1882 to 1962.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Generates maps and spreadsheets of Census data from 1790 to present
Updated regularly. Provides easy access to historical census data for the United States. Allows users to visually analyze and understand the demography of any part of the United States with access to the following:

* Interactive thematic maps of historical census data
* Customized reports for any chosen area or areas (including aggregates)
* Complete coverage of the United States, down to neighborhoods and streets
* Simple navigation buttons and a find tool make it easy and efficient to study neighborhoods

Users can examine geographic areas while selecting the type of data to be shown, such as population density or income level. The corresponding data tables are also available.

Data Sets

Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Data on the United States, including demographics, economics, government, & finance from 1790-2000.
ICPSR This link opens in a new window
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
SageData This link opens in a new window
A dynamic tool to scan and search the contents of billions of datasets from the United States. Compare and contrast variables of interest and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts
Previously Sage Stats.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Generates maps and spreadsheets of Census data from 1790 to present
Updated regularly. Provides easy access to historical census data for the United States. Allows users to visually analyze and understand the demography of any part of the United States with access to the following:

* Interactive thematic maps of historical census data
* Customized reports for any chosen area or areas (including aggregates)
* Complete coverage of the United States, down to neighborhoods and streets
* Simple navigation buttons and a find tool make it easy and efficient to study neighborhoods

Users can examine geographic areas while selecting the type of data to be shown, such as population density or income level. The corresponding data tables are also available.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Providing statistical data for over 170 industries in 50 countries.