Primary Sources

The County and Regional Histories & Atlases: Ohio database provides access to a comprehensive collection of historical atlases, maps, and county histories covering the state of Ohio. It includes digitized versions of rare 19th and early 20th century county atlases, plat books, and local histories. Users can explore detailed township maps, city plans, and rural landowner maps that show property boundaries and landowner names. The database also contains biographical sketches of prominent citizens, business directories, and historical narratives about Ohio counties and communities. This resource is invaluable for genealogists, historians, and researchers studying Ohio's local history and development. The digitized materials offer high-quality scans of original documents, allowing users to examine intricate map details and read historical accounts. With its extensive coverage of Ohio counties, this database serves as a crucial tool for understanding the state's geographical, social, and economic evolution over time.

This collection provides access to 240+ newspapers from across the state of Ohio. Content includes blogs, college/university newspapers, journals, magazines, newspapers, newswires, videos, and transcripts from ABC-9 WCPO (Cincinnati), CBS-12 WKRC (Cincinnati), FOX-19 WXIX (Cincinnati), and NBC-5 WLWT (Cincinnati). Holdings vary from title to title.

Research diverse perspectives, topics, and trends in this collection of current news sources, including North American and international newspapers, wire services, and broadcast news transcripts. It covers local, regional, and world issues, politics, government policies, sports, industries, cultural activities, schools, and people and events in local communities. Search curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, and International Studies, or more specific subjects such as African American Studies, Communication, Journalism, and Media Studies, Criminal Justice, Planning, Public Policy, and Public Administration, Social Work, and Sociology.

The Morgan Bibliography of Ohio Imprints, 1796-1850 is a specialized online database that catalogs and provides access to a comprehensive collection of printed materials produced in Ohio during the early years of statehood. This resource includes a wide array of imprints such as books, pamphlets, broadsides, and other printed works, reflecting the diverse cultural, political, and social landscape of Ohio in the 19th century. Users can explore detailed bibliographic records that include publication information, physical descriptions, and historical context for each item. The database serves as an invaluable tool for researchers, historians, and bibliophiles interested in the early American print culture and the development of literature and information dissemination in Ohio. By preserving these historical documents, it contributes to a greater understanding of the state's heritage and its role in the broader narrative of American history.

The Ohio Name Index, 1796-1850 is a vital online resource that serves as a comprehensive database for genealogical research, focusing on individuals associated with Ohio during the early statehood period. Compiled by Richard P. Morgan and maintained by the Ohio Library, this index includes names extracted from various historical documents such as newspapers, government records, and published works. Users can search for names to uncover vital information about individuals, including their roles in society, occupations, and connections to significant events during this formative period in Ohio's history. The index is particularly useful for researchers, historians, and genealogists seeking to trace family lineages or understand the social fabric of early Ohio communities. By providing access to this wealth of information, the index supports a deeper understanding of personal histories and regional development in Ohio.