Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Responsive image
Libraries Research Guides

Documenting the Black Experience at the University of Dayton

Welcome to the Guide to the Black Experience at the University of Dayton

The purpose of this guide is to support researchers with archival material from University Archives and Special Collections relating to the history and presence of Black students, faculty, staff, and alumni at the University of Dayton.

University Archives and Special Collections houses records, publications, photographs, and other materials pertaining to every aspect of UD's history, including the papers of faculty and alumni, student organizations, and department and administrative records. Resources in University Archives are non-circulating. Materials are open to the public for research, reference, and instruction.  

Planning a visit to University Archives and Special Collections

Please contact the University Archivist to schedule a research appointment by sending an email to Kristina Schulz at kschulz1@udayton.edu or call at 937-229-4256.It is recommended that you schedule an appointment as some collections take up to 48 hours to retrieve. 

University Archives is open Monday through Friday, from 8:30 am - 4:00 pm. University Archives is closed weekends and Library holidays. See our hours page for more information. 

University Archives is located in Albert Emanuel Hall, room 212.  While at the Archives, you can make copies with your phone, iPad, or digital camera. We also have a copier that scans to your email.

chat loading...