Primary Sources

This collection of papers spans the majority of the twentieth century, from 1912 to 1990. Scholars and students in twentieth-century American social history and politics will find this archive of special interest because of its focus on civil rights, civil liberties, race, gender, and issues relating to the U.S. Supreme Court. Subjects include: the first “Red Scare” following the Russian Revolution of 1917, debates in the 1920s on immigration, the American Birth Control League, lynchings in the 1930s, debates on aliens and immigrants in the years immediately preceding the U.S. entry into the Second World War, and the ACLU’s involvement in two of the mid-century’s most important issues: the Vietnam War and the Civil Rights movement. The files hold the letters of union organizers, labor activists, and members of the Industrial Workers of the World (IWW). Documents include bills, briefs, correspondence, court documents, legal case files, memorandums, minutes, newspaper clippings, reports, scrapbooks, and telegrams.

This collection is comprised of records of three women’s rights organizations: the National Woman’s Party, the League of Women Voters, and the Women’s Action Alliance. It also searches the Citizens Advisory Council on the Status of Women, Records of the National Association of Colored Women’s Clubs, 1895-1992, the papers of the NAACP, and the records of other major civil rights organizations. Key topics covered include women, women's rights, women's organizations, professional correspondence, administrative and organizational records, international relations, National Woman's Party, World Woman's Party, women's suffrage movement, constitutional amendments, conference proceedings, books and reports, and reproductive health.

This online database provides access to a comprehensive collection of records from the United Garment Workers of America (UGWA), spanning from 1893 to 1994. The archive is organized into eight series, encompassing a wide range of materials that document the history and activities of the union. Key components include time study and motion research files that analyze labor efficiency in the garment industry, as well as union contracts, correspondence, and office files detailing the operations of UGWA's central headquarters. Local union files contain financial documents, grievances, and meeting minutes, reflecting the grassroots activities of members. Additionally, the collection features publications, photographs, audio recordings, and index card files that provide further insights into the union's impact on labor rights and garment production. This resource is invaluable for researchers studying labor history, social movements, and the evolution of workers' rights in the textile industry.