Library Guides: Primary Sources: Asia

Asia

Chinese Recorder and the Protestant Missionary Community in China, 1867-1941 This link opens in a new window
The Chinese Recorder provides English language accounts of events in China, including the crusade against opium, the Boxer Rebellion, the 1911 Revolution, the Sino-Japanese war, and more. Access includes more than 52,000 images and covers the years 1867-1941.
This specialized online database offers access to a rich collection of primary source materials related to the Protestant missionary activities in China during the late 19th and early 20th centuries. Content covers the years 1867 to 1941. This database features the complete run of the Chinese Recorder, a significant periodical published by missionaries that documented social, cultural, and religious developments in China. Users can explore articles, reports, letters, and photographs that provide insights into the interactions between missionaries and local communities, as well as the broader historical context of China's modernization and foreign influence. The collection is invaluable for researchers studying Chinese history, missionary work, and intercultural relations. By providing full-text access to these historical documents, the database facilitates a deeper understanding of the complexities of missionary efforts and their impact on Chinese society during this transformative period.
Indian Army and Colonial Warfare on the Frontiers of India, 1914-1920 This link opens in a new window
This collection documents the military history of South Asia and the history of the British military experience in India through Army lists, regulations, manuals, orders of battle, administration summaries, commissions, reports, regimental narratives, and more.
This collection documents the military history of South Asia and the history of the British military experience in India through Army lists, orders, instructions, regulations, manuals, orders of battle, administration summaries, commissions, reports, maneuvers, and regimental narratives. Access to more than 5200 images from the British Library.
South Asia Open Archives This link opens in a new window
Open-access archival resource that includes historical and contemporary sources from and about the region in arts, humanities, social sciences, history of science, and other fields in English and other South Asian languages.
This collaborative digital initiative offers a vast collection of open access materials for the study of South Asia, addressing the scarcity of digital resources in this field. It contains over 450,000 page images of books, journals, newspapers, census data, magazines, and documents in English and various South Asian languages. The collection focuses on social and economic history, literature, women and gender studies, and caste and social structure. Materials are sourced from libraries, research centers, archives, and other institutions worldwide. The database covers both historical and contemporary content in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. It serves researchers, educators, and students by providing free access to primary sources and key texts. The platform offers advanced search capabilities and user-friendly features through its partnership with JSTOR. Regular updates ensure the continued growth and relevance of this valuable resource for South Asian studies.