Library Guides: Business: Introduction

Welcome!

This guide is designed to provide library research resources for students and faculty in School of Business Administration. Use the tabs to find recommended business research resources, helpful tools, and library support available to you. For assistance in using the guide or locating resources, please contact your librarian or visit the UD Libraries Help Page.

Did you know? UD students, faculty, and staff are eligible for complementary online subscriptions to the Wall Street Journal and the New York Times.

Get to Know Roesch Library

Quick Links

Company Research
Databases, news, and scholarly resources with reliable and authoritative information about companies, including company profiles, business directories, and other details about business activities and financials.
Consumer & Market Research
Sources of reputable consumer and market data and tools for accessing reliable statistics and reports for U.S. and international markets.
Financial Information
Resources providing financial information for U.S. and international public and private companies, investment information and analyses, and company data, industry reports, business, and economic statistics.
Industry Research
Databases and tools for accessing industry profiles, comparing industry and company financial ratios, and locating reputable news, scholarly, and trade publications for industry research.

Bizminer This link opens in a new window
Startup and small business statistics, such as annual sales and market share, failure rates, & entrepreneurial activity rates. Reports available for states and local areas as well as the national level. Data includes access to 9000+ markets and more than 10 million companies.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from thousands of scholarly business journals, magazines, and trade journals from the fields of marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics. Plus company and industry profiles, SWOT analyses, country economic reports, financial data, and investment reports.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth analysis of over 700 U.S. industries at the national and state level. Global industry reports are particularly strong in the manufacturing sector.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Company data for U.S. and international public and private companies. Includes industry reports for North America, Asia/Pacific, Europe and Latin America by country and region; U.S. executive profiles; equity research reports; and more.
Mintel Academic Access This link opens in a new window
Analyzes market drivers, sizes & trends, market segmentation, and consumer attitudes & purchasing habits for the US and European marketplaces.
Mintel Market Sizes This link opens in a new window
Market size, market share, market segmentation, and forecast data for thousands of consumer goods categories searchable by product, world region, and/or country.
Reference Solutions This link opens in a new window
Directory information for over 80 million businesses in the U.S. and Canada, customizable by type of business, geographic location, size of business, and sales. Data also available on more than 270 million consumers.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Generates maps, data visuallizations, and spreadsheets of Census data from 1790-2010. Additional data available up to the 2020 census.
Updated regularly. Provides easy access to historical census data for the United States. Allows users to visually analyze and understand the demography of any part of the United States with access to the following:

* Interactive thematic maps of historical census data
* Customized reports for any chosen area or areas (including aggregates)
* Complete coverage of the United States, down to neighborhoods and streets
* Simple navigation buttons and a find tool make it easy and efficient to study neighborhoods

Users can examine geographic areas while selecting the type of data to be shown, such as population density or income level. The corresponding data tables are also available.
NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Updated daily. Provides a comprehensive, professional source of investment information and analysis on industries and companies. Full text coverage includes stock, bond, and mutual fund guides and reports; earnings and dividends reports; comprehensive company information; industry surveys for 52 major U.S. industries; and directories of companies, executives and security dealers

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from thousands of scholarly business journals, magazines, and trade journals from the fields of marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics. Plus company and industry profiles, SWOT analyses, country economic reports, financial data, and investment reports.

Search a company's name or ticker symbol, then limit the Source Types to Academic Journals, Newspapers, Magazines, and/or Trade Publications.

New York Times Online This link opens in a new window
Current access to the digital edition of the New York Times. Requires individual login and password set up. Access for UD faculty, staff, and students only.
Wall Street Journal Online This link opens in a new window
Requires individual login and password set up. Access for UD faculty, staff, and students only. Business-focused, international daily newspaper based in New York City.

Note: While APA style is commonly used for citing business sources, there is no single generally accepted citing style for the business discipline. In addition to APA, Harvard, and Chicago styles are also commonly used to cite business sources.

Citing Business Sources
A business citation guide maintained by UD's library liaison to SBA. Includes citation rules and examples in APA 7 for common sources and links to reputable style guides and resources.
Citing Your Sources
Roesch Library's guide to citations with examples and trusted resources.
Purdue OWL APA Style Site
This trusted site includes many examples of how to cite commonly used academic sources such as articles, books, book chapters, and websites in APA style.
The Purdue OWL Chicago Style Site
This trusted site includes many examples of how to cite commonly used academic sources such as articles, books, book chapters, and websites in Chicago style.