Library Guides: Business: APA 7 Citation Style Guide

APA 7 Citation Style Guide

APA 7 is the citation style most commonly used in business research and recommended by business librarians today - but please check with your instructor for style requirements in your assignments. APA 7 formats and examples for common cases and data from UD's provided databases are provided below.

Annual Report	Book or Book Chapter	Data Sets
Figures and Tables	IBISWorld Report	Journal Article
Mergent Online	Mintel	News & Periodicals
SEC Filing	S&P NetAdvantage	Statista
Social Explorer	Stock Quotes	SWOT Analysis

Annual Report

Company Name. (year). Report Title. Retrieved from [URL].

Example: Snap Inc. (2022). 2022 Annual Report. Retrieved from https://investor.snap.com/financials/Annual-Report/default.aspx

Book or Book Chapter

Book

Author, A.A. (Year of Publication). Title of Book. Publisher. DOI (if available.

Example: Chatelain, M. (2021). Franchise: The Golden Arches in Black America. Liveright Publishing Corporation.

Book Chapter

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Year of publication). Title of chapter. In E. E. Editor & F. F. Editor (Eds.), Title of book (pp. pages of chapter). Publisher. DOI (if available)

Example: Rieder, B. & Rohle, T. (2012). Digital Methods: Five Challenges. In Berry, D.M. (Ed.), Understanding Digital Humanities (pp. 67-84). Palgrave MacMillan.

Data Sets

Author/Data Collector. (date). Title of data set. [Description of form]. Publisher name or source of data. Retrieved [date of retrieval], from [URL].

Data Planet Example: Bureau of Economic Analysis. (July 2, 2023). Percent Change from Preceding Period in Real Gross Domestic Product from the NIPA: Domestic Product and Income Database. [Data set]. Department of Commerce Economics and Statistics Administration; Data Planet Statistical Datasets. Retrieved July 14, 2023, from https://doi.org/10.6068/DP18954C48C493

Census Data Example: U.S. Census Bureau. (2017). Selected Sectors: Summary Statistics for Exported Services for the U.S. (Table EC1700EXPSVC). [Data set.]. U.S. Department of Commerce. Retrieved July 14, 2023, from https://data.census.gov/table?t=Exported+Sales/Services&tid=ECNEXPSVC2017.EC1700EXPSVC

Figures and Tables

Author. (year). Title of figure/table. [Description of Form]. Title of work. URL or Database name.

Example: United Nations Development Programme. (2022). Table 2: Trends in the Human Development Index, 1990-2021. [Table]. Human Development Index. https://hdr.undp.org/data-center/documentation-and-downloads

IBISWorld Report

Author. (Publication Date). Title of report (report #). [Description]. https://www.ibisworld.com

Example - Report with Author: Maldonado, C. (2023, January). Medical Instrument & Supply Manufacturing in the US (33911A). [US Industry (NAICS) Report]. https://www.ibisworld.com

Example - No Author: IBISWorld. (2022, August). Specialty Food Stores in Ohio (OH44529). [US Industry State Report]. https://www.ibisworld.com

Mergent Online

Company Profile

Mergent. (n.d). Company Name. [Company profile]. Retrieved [date of retrieval], from https://www.mergentonline.com/

Example: Mergent. (n.d). Bausch + Lomb Corporation. [Company profile]. Retrieved July 14, 2023, from https://www.mergentonline.com/

Industry Report

Author. (Date). Report Title. [Industry profile]. Retrieved [date of retrieval], from https://www.mergentonline.com/

Example: FTSE Russell. (2019, October). Travel and Leisure North America. [Industry profile]. Retrieved July 14, 2023, from https://www.mergentonline.com/

Mintel

Mintel Insights Reports

Author. (Date). Title of Report. Mintel. [URL]

Example: Bryant, C. (2023). Disposable Baby Products - US. Mintel. https://reports.mintel.com/display/1155693/

Mintel Databook Figures, Tables, and Charts

Author. (Date). Title of Report. Title of work. [URL]

Example: Mintel. (n.d.). First Time Parents. [Chart]. Disposable Baby Products - US. https://data.mintel.com/databook/1155693/#S4

Mintel Market Sizes Data Sets

Mintel. (n.d.). Title of Report. Retrieved [date of retrieval], from https://marketsizes.mintel.com/

Example: Mintel. (n.d.). US - Cheese: Market segmentation by volume. Retrieved July 14, 2023, from https://marketsizes.mintel.com/

Journal Articles

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, volume number(issue number), pages. https://doi.org/xx.xxx/yyyy

Example: Slade, P., Michler, J.D, & Josephson, A. (2019). Foreign Geographical Indications, Consumer Preferences, and the Domestic Market for Cheese. Applied Economic Perspectives & Policy, 41(3), 370-390. https://doi.org/10.1093/aepp/ppz010

News Articles & Periodicals

Online

Author, A. A. (Date). Title of article. Title of Periodical. URL

Example: Bernstein, D. (2023, July 11). How Top CEOs Are Navigating the U.S. - China Divide. Forbes. https://www.forbes.com/sites/drewbernstein/2023/07/11/how-top-ceos-are-navigating-the-us-china-divide

Print

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Date). Title of article. Title of Periodical, volume number (issue number), pages.

Magazine Example: Schick, K. (2011, November 4). Citation obsession? Get over it!. Chronicle Of Higher Education, 58(11), A96.

Newspaper Example: Aulakh, R. (2012, June 13). From surviving to thriving. Toronto Star, GT1, GT4.

SEC Filing

Company Name. (year, month day). Form 10-K. Retrieved from [source].

Example: McDonald's Corporation. (2023, May 4). Form 10-Q. Retrieved from https://corporate.mcdonalds.com/

S&P Net Advantage

General Report Format

Information Provider. (year). Title. [Source type]. Retrieved from S&P NetAdvantage database.

Example - S&P Report: Sakraida, J. (2023, July 8). Waste Connections, Inc. [Report] . Retrieved from S&P NetAdvantage database.

Financial Report Format

Information Provider. (year). Title. Retrieved from S&P NetAdvantage database.

Example - SEC Filing: The Kraft Heinz Company. (2023, February 16). Form 10-K. Retrieved from S&P NetAdvantage database.

Company Profiles

S&P NetAdvantage. (n.d.). [Company Name] Public Company Profile. Retrieved [retrieval date] from S&P NetAdvantage database.

Example: S&P NetAdvantage. (n.d.). Tupperware Brands Corporation Public Company Profile. Retrieved July 14, 2023, from S&P NetAdvantage database.

Statista

Source. (Date). Title of Source. [Source Type]. Retrieved from Statista. [URL].

Example (Statista Report): Statista. (2023). Food retail in the United States. [Industry Dossier]. Retrieved from Statista. https://www.statista.com/study/10830/food-retail-in-the-united-states-statista-dossier/

Example (Non-Statista Source): Chuck E. Cheese's. (2020). Total assets of Chuck E. Cheese's worldwide from 2007 to 2019. [Chart]. Retrieved from Statista. https://www.statista.com/statistics/222063/chuck-e-cheeses-total-assets/

Social Explorer

Reports

Data Table Name (Survey Year, Survey Name). In SocialExplorer.com. Retrieved [retrieval date] from [URL].

Example: TableA01001B. Age - Cumulative (More) (ACS 2019, 1-year estimate). In SocialExplorer.com. Retrieved July 14, 2023, from https://www.socialexplorer.com/tables/ACS2019/R12660859

Maps

Title of Social Explorer Map [Map]. In SocialExplorer.com. (Survey Year, Survey Name) Retrieved [Retrieval Date] from [URL]

Example: Population Density (Per Sq. Mile) [Map]. In SocialExplorer.com. ACS 2016 (5-Year Estimates) Retrieved July 25, 2018, from https://www.socialexplorer.com/8e62e93dee/view

Stocks

Stock Exchange Name. (Date of Stock Quote). Company Name [Stock quote and chart]. Retrieved [date of retrieval] from [URL]

Example: NasdaqGS. (2023, May 15). Starbucks Corporation [Stock quote and chart]. Retrieved July 14, 2023 from finance.yahoo.com

SWOT Analysis

Author. (Date). Title. Database Name. Database URL.

Example: MarketLine. (2023, June 12). Yum! Brands SWOT Analysis. Business Source Complete. https://www.ebsco.com/products/research-databases/business-source-complete