Library Guides: Business: Beer & Brewing

This page provides suggested sources of information about the beer and brewing industries, including publications available through library databases, links to the websites of relevant professional & trade associations, relevant government and international institutions, and web sources.

Related Industry Classification Codes

NAICS 312120: Breweries
NAICS 424810: Beer and ale merchant wholesalers
NAICS 445320: Beer, wine, and liquor retailers
NAICS 722410: Drinking Places (Alcoholic Beverages)

2022 NAICS Definition: 312120
The U.S. Census Bureau's profile for industry code 312120
2022 NAICS Definition: 424810
The U.S. Census Bureau's profile for industry code 424810
2022 NAICS Definition: 445320
The U.S. Census Bureau's profile for industry code 445320.

Library Resources

Recommended Databases

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from thousands of scholarly business journals, magazines, and trade journals; includes company and industry profiles.
Access full-text articles from thousands of scholarly business journals, magazines, and trade journals from the fields of marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics. Plus company and industry profiles, SWOT analyses, country economic reports, financial data, and investment reports. This database includes rigorous curation and indexing of open access (OA) journals. Full-text non-journal content includes company profiles, informational records, case studies, industry reports, business executive interviews, working papers, and over 75,000 videos from the Associated Press.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld offers industry profiles for many parts of the brewing and beer industries, as well as specialized reports focused on different market and product subsets.
This industry research database contains reports on industries in the China, Global, and U.S. markets. The U.S. content is further subdivided into: Industry Reports classified by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), Specialized Industry Reports for industries not adequately covered by NAICS, US Industry State Reports, US State Economic Profiles, US Industry iExpert Summaries, US Specialized Industry iExpert Summaries, US Business Environment Profiles, and US Business Environment State Profiles. Global industry reports are strong in the manufacturing sector. Each report contains an “at a glance” overview (including SWOT analysis), performance data, outlook data, products & markets analysis, competitive landscape analysis, lists of major companies, operating conditions, and key statistics. Statistics include financial ratios and industry averages from the Risk Management Association.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides statistical information and insights about the beer industry and consumer behavior.
At statista.com, access statistical data for more than 170 industries from over 80,000 topics in areas such as business, education, finance, media, politics, society, and technology. Statista gathers data from over 20,000 sources, including market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases, and the reports, charts, infographics, and statistics can be viewed online or downloaded.
Mintel Academic Access This link opens in a new window
Market reports providing insights & analysis on consumer behavior, market trends, product innovations, & industry opportunities, offering data to support academic research & business strategies.
Search reports, industry trends, expert insights, and national & international news to analyze market drivers, sizes & trends, market segmentation, and consumer attitudes & purchasing habits for the United States and European marketplaces. Filter searches by global regions, trend drivers (experiences, identity, rights, etc.), demographics (ex. age range / generation, marital status), or category (health & nutrition, retail & apparel, travel, leisure & entertainment, and more). Each report combines data and analysis of the competitive landscape, supply chain, market-share size and trends, and consumer profiles.

Scholarly Journals

Beverages
An open-access, peer-reviewed journal on beverage research, development, and policy.
Journal of the Institute of Brewing
A peer-reviewed journal publishing research about the brewing and fermentation industries.

Industry-Focused Publications

Beer Connisseur
A bimonthly periodical exploring beer culture and the beer industry.
Beverage Dynamics
A trade publication focused on sprits, wine, and beer in retail.

Professional and Trade Associations

American Beverage Licensees
ABL is a national trade association for retail beverage alcohol license holders across the United States.
American Society of Brewing Chemists
A professional association focused on improving and bringing uniformity to the brewing industry on a technical level.
The Beer Institute
A national trade association for the American brewing industry, representing both large and small brewers, as well as importers and industry suppliers
Brewer's Association
The Brewer's Association is made up of breweries, beer wholesalers, members of the allied trade, and over 27,000 members of the American Homebrewer's Association.
Master Brewers Association of the Americas
A professional association with the purpose of promoting, advancing, and improving the professional interest of brew and malt house production and technical personnel.
National Alcohol Beverage Control Association
NABCA is a national association focused on regulatory, operational, policy, and public health issues related to the distribution and sale of beverage alcohol.
Ohio Craft Beer Association
An organization founded to support the Ohio brewing community, market Ohio manufactured beers throughout the state and beyond, and monitor and promote a strong beer industry in Ohio.
National Beer Wholesalers Association
A professional organization for the independent beer and beverage distribution industry.

Government Resources

Alcohol & Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau
TTB is a bureau under the U.S. Department of the Treasury. The TTB collects taxes on alcohol, tobacco, firearms, and ammunition and regulates market activity for alcohol and tobacco products.
State Laws and Regulators
The Brewers Association has compiled a database of U.S. laws impacting craft brewers, with links to relevant codes and agencies.

Web Resources

Beer Connisseur
An online source of news and media related to the beer industry.
Beverage Industry
A web-based media site offering insights and news about beverage products and operations.
Brewbound
A web-based trade publication focused on the beer industry.

Business

Suggested Search Terms

Library Subject Headings

Business Librarian