Library Guides: Business: Financial Data

Best Bets for Financial Data

This page provides key resources for locating financial data about companies, industries, stocks, bonds, and mutual funds. Visit the Finance Research Guide for additional sources and topic coverage.

Company and Industry Financials

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Profiles for over 700 U.S. industries; includes key industry financials and benchmarks.
NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Professional source of investment information and analysis on industries and companies.
Mergent Market Atlas This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive profiles for publicly traded companies including financial data, sustainability and ESG information, SEC and annual filings, and analyst reports.
Also includes corporate information covering over 50,000 US and foreign public companies, current and historical (past 15 years) firm descriptions, statistics, financial information and ratios, annual reports, mergers, acquisitions, disposals, joint ventures, long-term debt, capital stock, and insider trading.
EDGAR This link opens in a new window
The U.S. Security and Exchange Commission's database of company filings, including 10K reports for publicly traded companies.

Yahoo! Finance
Online source for basic information on stocks, bonds, and funds

Benchmarking

Bizminer This link opens in a new window
The Industry Financial Profile function of BizMiner generates industry reports with financial analysis benchmarks at the national, state, and local levels.
Quickly search startup and small business statistics, such as annual sales and market share, failure rates, and entrepreneurial activity rates. Reports are available for states and local areas as well as the national level. Data includes access to 9000+ markets and more than 10 million companies.

Stocks, Bonds, and Mutual Funds

UD's Subscription Databases

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Find stock information on company profiles and in the Report Viewer tab.
NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Coverage includes stock, bond, and mutual fund guides and reports.

Davis Center for Portfolio Management
The Davis Center is designed to replicate a Wall Street buy-side firm, equipped with resources for investment research such as Bloomberg, FactSet, and Morningstar Direct.

Web Resources

Bonds Online
Website covering U.S corporate bonds, U.S. Municipal bonds, U.S Treasury and Federal Agency securities, bond funds, and convertible bonds.
The Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA)
Market data on a wide range of bonds, including information about bond market activity and performance and benchmark yields as well as transaction data, credit ratings, and descriptions of individual corporate, municipal, and U.S. Treasury bonds
TreasuryDirect
Data for treasury bills, notes, and other federal securities.
U.S Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC)
The CFTC website contains information on commodities markets, provides market analysis, surveillance, and research resources, and links to all U.S. exchanges.
Yahoo! Finance
Online source for basic information on stocks, bonds, and funds