This page provides suggested sources of information about leadership and personal development-related industries, including publications available through library databases, links to the websites of relevant professional & trade associations, relevant government and international institutions, and web sources.
Related Industry Classification Codes
- NAICS 611430: Professional and Management Development Training
- NAICS 611699: Personal Development Schools
- NAICS 611710: Educational Support Services
- 2022 NAICS Definition: 611430 The U.S. Census Bureau's profile for industry code 611430
- 2022 NAICS Definition: 611699 The U.S. Census Bureau's profile for industry code 611699
- 2022 NAICS Definition: 611710 The U.S. Census Bureau's profile for industry code 611710
Library Resources
Recommended Databases
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Offers extensive full-text content from scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines across business disciplines, as well as company profiles, industry reports, and market research reports.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth analysis of over 700 U.S. industries at the national and state level. Global industry reports are particularly strong in the manufacturing sector.
- Statista This link opens in a new window
Providing statistical data for over 170 industries in 50 countries.
- Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Collection of over 450 journals and 200 education reports for educators, librarians and education researchers.
Scholarly Journals
- Career Development QuarterlyCDQ is the official journal of the National Career Development Association (NCDA). Provides peer reviewed articles on topics in career development, education, training, and counseling.
- International Coaching Psychology ReviewAn international peer reviewed publication with a focus on the theory, practice, and research in the field of coaching psychology.
- International Journal of Evidence-Based Coaching and MentoringPublishes peer-reviewed articles on coaching and mentoring.
- Journal of Employment CounselingThe official journal of the National Employment Counseling Association (NECA); offers peer-reviewed articles regarding theory & practice in employment counseling, current client vocational problems, and professional concerns of counselors.
Industry-Focused Publications
- Harvard Business ReviewUse "Search Within This Publication" to search for Case Studies.
- HRMagazineFeature articles providing insights into innovative approaches and successful programs in human resources and related fields.
- TD: Talent DevelopmentMonthly professional publication featuring articles about many aspects of talent development and training industries.
- Training JournalTrade publication human resources and learning & development professionals.
- Training MagazineQuarterly periodical written for training, hr, and business management professionals. Provides industry trends and insights.
Professional and Trade Associations
- Association for CoachingIndependent professional organization providing articles and resources for internal and external coaches, leader coach mentors, coach training/service providers, educators, coach supervisors and organizations building coaching cultures.
- Association for Talent DevelopmentA professional organization supporting talent development professionals, including trainers, consultants, and coaches.
- Institute of CoachingNon-profit organization funding research and offering resources related to leadership, organizational, health, psychology, and life coaching.
- International Association of CoachingThe IAC is a professional association of professional and personal development coaches.
- International Coaching FederationICF is a professional organization that develops standards and maintains credentialing and accreditation programs for coaches and organizations in the professional and personal development coaching industry.
- National Career Development AssociationThe NCDA provides professional development, publications, standards, and advocacy to practitioners and educators who inspire and empower individuals to achieve their career and life goals.
- National Employment Counseling AssociationA professional association for employment and workforce counselors.
- Society for Human Resource ManagementSHRM is a professional association, providing educational resources and articles about current topics. Browse the Talent Acquisition section or search by keyword to find relevant information.
Government and International Resources
- U.S. Department of LaborThe executive department of the U.S. federal government responsible for the administration of federal laws governing occupational safety and health, employment, and labor.
- Ohio Department of Administrative Services: Talent Management DepartmentState of Ohio resources and information related to professional and talent development.
- WEF Centre for New Economy and SocietyWorld Economic Forum resources related to economic growth, equity and inclusion, and skill and talent development.
- U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsHint: Start with the search term "racial disparity"
Web Resources
- COACH MagazineDigital publication providing feature and editorial articles related to professional coaching.
- Harvard Business School Working KnowledgeNew research and ideas on business management. Articles can be filtered by topic and industry.
- Library of Professional CoachingArticles, videos, research briefs, dissertations, and more relevant to professional coaching.
- MIT Sloan Management ReviewDiscourse about advances in management practice; articles offer evidence-based insights and guidance to innovate, operate, lead, and create value in a world being transformed by technology and large-scale societal and environmental forces.
- Training MagazineA professional development magazine that advocates training and workforce development as a business tool. Includes industry analysis and data.
