Suggested Search Terms
Restaurant
Foodservice
Food service
Full-service restaurant
Chain restaurant
Limited-service restaurant
Business Librarian
This page provides suggested sources of information about the restaurant industry, including publications available through library databases, links to the websites of relevant professional & trade associations, relevant government and international institutions, and web sources.
Related Industry Classification Codes
- NAICS 7225: Restaurants and Other Eating Places
- NAICS 722511: Full-Service Restaurants
- NAICS 722513: Limited-Service Restaurants
- NAICS 722514: Cafeterias, Grill Buffets, and Buffets
- NAICS 722515: Snack and Nonalcoholic Beverage Bars
- 2022 NAICS Definition: 722511 The U.S. Census Bureau's profile for industry code 722511
- 2022 NAICS Definition: 722513 The U.S. Census Bureau's profile for industry code 722513
- 2022 NAICS Definition: 722514 The U.S. Census Bureau's profile for industry code 722514
- 2022 NAICS Definition: 722515 The U.S. Census Bureau's profile for industry code 722515
Library Resources
Recommended Databases
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from thousands of scholarly business journals, magazines, and trade journals; company reports and industry profiles. - Food Science Source This link opens in a new window
An extensive full-text database designed to support the research needs of the food industry; includes industry and market reports. - IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld offers industry profiles for subsectors and specialized types of restaurants in the NAICS 7225 category.
- Mintel Academic Access This link opens in a new window
Analyzes market drivers, sizes & trends, market segmentation, and consumer attitudes & purchasing habits for the US and European marketplaces.
- Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides robust reports about consumers, brands, trends, markets, companies, and more in the restaurant industry.
Scholarly Journals
- Journal of Foodservice Business ResearchA bimonthly journal focused on interdisciplinary business research in the foodservice industry.
- Cornell Hospitality QuarterlyA peer-reviewed scholarly journal focused on topics in the hospitality industry, including restaurants and foodservice.
Industry-Focused Publications
- Nation's Restaurant News (Subscription)Monthly trade periodical covering the U.S. restaurant industry
Professional and Trade Associations
- The Food Industry AssociationFMI, The Food Industry Association, is a professional association focused on the consumer food supply chain, including food retail.
- National Grocers AssociationNGA is a national trade organization serving the independent supermarket industry
- National Restaurant AssociationThe National Restaurant Association is the largest foodservice trade association in the world, providing resources about the industry at large and current trends in food & beverage.
- Retail Industry Leaders AssociationRILA is a US trade association for retailers that have earned leadership status by virtue of their sales volume, innovation or aspiration. Their site includes resources about the retail industry in general, including regulations and trends, and can be searched by type of retail business.
- State Restaurant AssociationsA website from the National Restaurant Association with links to the restaurant associations for all 50 states in the US, Puerto Rico, and District of Columbia.
Web Resources
- QSR MagazineAn online news site providing reporting on the quick-service restaurant industry, including fast food, fast casual, coffee, snacks, and concession sales.
- Nation's Restaurant NewsNRN is an independent web publication covering the full foodservice industry, with articles featuring trends and emerging concepts.
- Restaurant Business OnlineNews and reports focused on trends in the commercial foodservice industry.
- FSR MagazineAn online magazine publication focused on the full-service restaurant industry.
- FoodService DirectorAn online magazine covering topics and trends in the foodservice industry.
Government Resources
- FDA Retail Food Protection ProgramResources from the FDA related to the regulation and oversight of food establishments.
- USDA Economic Research Service: Food Service IndustryData and research on the economic impact of foodservice outlets.
