Financial Information: Best Bets
- NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window Provides a comprehensive, professional source of investment information and analysis on industries and companies. Full text coverage includes stock, bond, and mutual fund guides and reports; earnings and dividends reports; and historical data through the Chart Builder function.
- Wall Street Journal Online This link opens in a new window Find up-to-date financial information, including stock, bond, mutual fund, and commodities data.
Your Librarian
Financial Information Sources
This page lists databases and reputable news sources for finding financial information. The Databases and Sources of Financial Information section lists databases, online resources, and news sources where you can locate
- Company & Industry Finance Information
- Bonds, Mutual Funds, Stocks, Commodities, and Futures data
- News and journal articles
- and more.
Preparing for Your Search
Identify and define the purpose of your search. Every database and information source is different - some provide financial records, some provide current, in-the-moment data and statistics, and some include historic data, trend analysis, and reports. Defining the type of information you need can help you select the right source.
Find ticker symbols. Ticker symbols are letter codes that stand for specific publicly traded companies on stock exchanges and indices. You can often use a company's ticker symbol to search databases. Find ticker symbols:
- Online with Symbol Lookup on Yahoo Finance
- On stock exchange & index websites
- On company profiles in the Mergent Online database
Databases and Sources of Financial Information
Company & Industry Financial Information
Companies produce reports, statements, and filings that provide financial information. Public companies typically provide these documents on their websites, however, public and private company financial information can also be found, compared, and analyzed in subscription databases available to UD students, faculty, and staff.
Industry reports are also available in several subscription databases, providing financial data and insights for academic and professional use.
UD's Subscription Databases
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from thousands of scholarly business journals, magazines, and trade journals from the fields of marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics. Plus company and industry profiles, SWOT analyses, country economic reports, financial data, and investment reports.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Industry reports include current and historical financial data, including revenue, IVA, exports, imports, wages, and demand values.
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Company data for U.S. and international public and private companies. Includes industry reports for North America, Asia/Pacific, Europe and Latin America by country and region; U.S. executive profiles; equity research reports; and more.
- Select D&B Private Company Database on the basic search page to include private companies in your search
- Click on the Company Analytics tab and filter by time period and data type to locate specific financial information for a company.
- Use ticker symbols when searching for public companies.
- NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Updated daily. Provides a comprehensive, professional source of investment information and analysis on industries and companies. Full text coverage includes stock, bond, and mutual fund guides and reports; earnings and dividends reports; comprehensive company information; industry surveys for 52 major U.S. industries; and directories of companies, executives and security dealers
Resources on the Open Web
- AnnualReports.comA site providing quick access to annual reports for public companies in the U.S., searchable by ticker symbol, exchange, industry, or sector.
- EDGAR This link opens in a new window
EDGAR (Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval) provides automated collection, validation, indexing, acceptance, and forwarding of submissions by companies and others who are required by law to file forms with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC).
- Yahoo! FinanceOnline source for basic information on stocks, bonds, and funds
Investment Research: Bonds & Mutual Funds
While there are many places online to find basic investment data for free, it can be more difficult to find historical prices or data for companies that are no longer in operation. The resources below are recommended for investment-related research, including UD's subscription tools for locating information about bonds, mutual funds, commodities and futures, and current and historical stock and bond data and open web resources for locating bond & mutual funds data.
UD's Subscription Databases
- NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Updated daily. Provides a comprehensive, professional source of investment information and analysis on industries and companies. Full text coverage includes stock, bond, and mutual fund guides and reports; earnings and dividends reports; comprehensive company information; industry surveys for 52 major U.S. industries; and directories of companies, executives and security dealers
Resources on the Open Web
- Bonds OnlineWebsite covering U.S corporate bonds, U.S. Municipal bonds, U.S Treasury and Federal Agency securities, bond funds, and convertible bonds.
- Bureau of Fiscal ServiceWebsite for the division of the U.S. Treasury department that provides information on U.S. public debt, State and Local Government Series, T-Bill and Savings Bonds, and Consumer Fraud
- EMMA (Electronic Market Municipal Access)The EMMA website is funded and operated by the Municipal Securities Rulemaking Board (MSRB), the self-regulatory organization charged by Congress with promoting a fair and efficient municipal securities market. EMMA is designated by the U. S. Securities and Exchange Commission as the official source for municipal securities data and disclosure documents. The website provides free public access to objective municipal market information and interactive tools for investors, municipal entities and others. EMMA supports municipal market transparency.
- The Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA)Market data on a wide range of bonds, including information about bond market activity and performance and benchmark yields as well as transaction data, credit ratings, and descriptions of individual corporate, municipal, and U.S. Treasury bonds
- ICI Mutual Funds ConnectionThe Investment Company Institute (ICI) is the leading association representing regulated investment funds, providing information about mutual funds, exchange-traded funds, closed-end funds, and unit investment trusts in the US.
- TreasuryDirectData for treasury bills, notes, and other federal securities.
- Yahoo! FinanceOnline source for basic information on stocks, bonds, and funds
Investment Research: Stocks
While there are many places online to find basic investment data for free, it can be more difficult to find historical prices or data for companies that are no longer in operation. The resources below are recommended for investment-related research, including UD's subscription tools for locating information about bonds, mutual funds, commodities and futures, and current and historical stock and bond data and open web resources for locating stock data.
UD's Subscription Databases
- Davis Center for Portfolio ManagementThe Davis Center is designed to replicate a Wall Street buy-side firm, equipped with resources for investment research such as Bloomberg, FactSet, and Morningstar Direct.
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Company data for U.S. and international public and private companies. Includes industry reports for North America, Asia/Pacific, Europe and Latin America by country and region; U.S. executive profiles; equity research reports; and more.
- NetAdvantage This link opens in a new windowInformation on companies, industries, the stock market, the economy, and long- and short-term prospects for equities, bonds, funds and industries.
On the Open Web
- ADR.comOnline source for news, earnings estimates, quotes. technical charts, and ownership of American Depository Receipts and international equities.
- Bank of New York Mellon Depository Receipts DirectoryAn online directory for viewing American Depository Receipts (ADRs) by industry, country, or region, with search functions for finding ADRs by institutional ownership
- Stock and Commodity Exchanges Research GuideA research guide from Rutgers University listing stock and commodity exchanges worldwide, including those dealing in futures, options, and derivatives, and providing sources for market prices, stock prices, and reports
- Yahoo! FinanceOnline source for basic information on stocks, bonds, and funds
Commodities & Futures
The resources below are recommended for locating information and data about commodities and futures. All of the suggested sources are available on the open web.
- CME GroupCME Group is the world’s leading derivatives marketplace. Use this site to locate information on commodities and futures markets.
- Futures Industry Association (FIA)FIA is the leading global trade organization for the futures, options and centrally cleared derivatives markets.
- Stock and Commodity Exchanges Research GuideA research guide from Rutgers University listing stock and commodity exchanges worldwide, including those dealing in futures, options, and derivatives, and providing sources for market prices, stock prices, and reports
- U.S Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC)The CFTC website contains information on commodities markets, provides market analysis, surveillance, and research resources, and links to all U.S. exchanges.
- UN Comtrade DatabaseThe United Nations Comtrade database aggregates detailed global annual and monthly trade statistics by product and trading partner for use by governments, academia, research institutes, and enterprises.
- USDA National Agricultural Statistics ServicesData on production, yields, and prices for agricultural commodities in the United States
- USGS Commodity Statistics and InformationStatistics and information on the worldwide supply of, demand for, and flow of minerals and materials essential to the U.S. economy, the national security, and protection of the environment.
- World Bank - Commodity MarketsCommodity prices and quarterly forecasts fro markets around the world
Financial News and Journal Articles
News and scholarly articles can provide additional details on current and historic financial information and situations that you discover elsewhere. Set up news alerts for the companies and ticker symbols you are researching to stay aware of new developments that might impact your research.
- Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national, and local news sources. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.
- Bloomberg Businessweek Archive This link opens in a new window
Complete digital version of the Businessweek backfile from 1929 - 2010
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from thousands of scholarly business journals, magazines, and trade journals from the fields of marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics. Plus company and industry profiles, SWOT analyses, country economic reports, financial data, and investment reports.
- EconLit This link opens in a new window
EconLit is an academic literature abstracting database service published by the American Economic Association. The service focuses on literature in the field of economics. EconLit covers articles and other materials dating back to 1969.
- IMF eLibrary This link opens in a new window
The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary provides direct access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. You will find information and perspective on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and more. - New York Times Online This link opens in a new window
Current access to the digital edition of the New York Times. Requires individual login and password set up. Access for UD faculty, staff, and students only.
- Wall Street Journal Online This link opens in a new window
Requires individual login and password set up. Access for UD faculty, staff, and students only. Business-focused, international daily newspaper based in New York City.
