Skip to Main Content

Business

Getting Started with Company Research

This page lists databases and reputable news sources for finding company information. This page lists databases and news sources where you can locate:

  • Company Profiles
  • Company Directories
  • Company News & Journal Articles
  • and more

Looking for company financials? Check out the Financial Information section of this guide.

Preparing for Your Search

What is the complete, official name of the company? Keep in mind that a company's common name (for example, McDonald's) may not be its official name (McDonald's Corporation). When possible, use the company's complete official name as your search term.

Is the company a subsidiary? A company is a subsidiary when it is partially or wholly owned by another company. A common example is Google and YouTube, which are subsidiaries of Alphabet, Inc. In some cases, company information for a subsidiary will be published or indexed under its parent company.

Is the company public or privately held? Publicly held companies in the United States are subject to regulations of the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, and a great deal of information is available on both the open web and in subscription databases. Privately-held companies do not typically provide the same level of detail to the public. Check out the database descriptions below to see which contain information about private companies when beginning your search.

How much information is needed? Every database is different - some provide directory-type information like phone number and address, while some can help you locate years of financial records. Defining the type of information you need can help you select the right source.

Databases and Sources of Information for Company Research

Company Profiles

Some databases provide detailed reports and profiles on companies. These profiles serve as overviews of a specific company and are useful starting points with useful data and high-level information to guide deeper searches and research.

Company Directories

Specialized business directories can provide lists of companies that operate in a specific industry or geographic area. Directories can be useful for screening companies and identifying competitors. Public and private companies are included in business directories, usually with more limited information about private companies.

Company News and Journal Articles

News and scholarly articles can provide additional details on business activities or financial situations that you discover elsewhere. Set up news alerts for the company you are researching to stay aware of new developments that might impact your research. 

SEARCH TIP: Search a company's name or ticker symbol, then limit the Source Types to Magazines and/or Trade Publications.
SEARCH TIP: Search a company's name or ticker symbol, then limit the Source Types to Academic Journals, Newspapers, Magazines, and/or Trade Publications.

Company Information on the Open Internet

Company information can be found in a variety of forms and locations, including the open web. Although publicly traded companies will generally provide their financial reports on their websites, it is important to remember that most of these websites are used for marketing and not designed for research. 

Company Websites

  • Annual Reports: Many companies publish their annual reports on their website. These are typically found in the section of a company website that contains information for investors.
  • Leadership Information: Company websites are often a good place to find current information about a company's executives and key employees. These are often found on the website's "About" or "Leadership" sections
300 College Park Dr.
Dayton, Ohio 45469
937-229-4221
library@udayton.edu
CONNECT
HOURS
Outside view of Roesch Library
chat loading...