Build Your Understanding
- Ohio History Central: An Online Encyclopedia of Ohio HistoryOhio History Central is an evolving, dynamic online encyclopedia that includes information about Ohio's natural history, prehistory, and history.
- Ohio History Connection History BlogBlog posts about Ohio history written by historians, citing scholarly research and primary sources.
- Smithsonian Learning LabThe Learning Lab is a free, interactive platform for discovering millions of authentic digital resources, creating content with online tools, and sharing in the Smithsonian's expansive community of knowledge and learning.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes information abstracted from over 2,000 journals published worldwide. Full text is an option where available.
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
This resource includes over 350,000 records covering all aspects of Indigenous culture, history, and life in North America from the 16th century to the present. These citations are connected to newspapers, magazines, academic journals, books, reviews, and trade publications from the United States and Canada with expanded content from Great Britain and Australia.
- North American Indian Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
The project integrates autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files. The result is a comprehensive representation of historical events (from the 17th century to the present) as told by the individuals who lived through them.
- Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
A collection of reference works that focus on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. Includes additional images, primary sources with specially written commentaries, and maps. Access provided to more than 20,000 articles, 700 primary sources, 2500 images, and 200 maps.
American Indian History Day by Day: a Reference Guide to Events by ISBN: 9780313382239Publication Date: 2012
Encyclopedia of Emancipation and Abolition in the Transatlantic World by ISBN: 0765612577Publication Date: 2007-11-15
Front Line of Freedom by Call Number: Roesch - 4th Floor - E450 .G82 2004ISBN: 0813122988Publication Date: 2004
Race and Ethnicity in America: from Pre-Contact to the Present [4 Volumes] by ISBN: 9781440850974Publication Date: 2019-10-11
Shaping North America: from Exploration to the American Revolution [3 Volumes] by ISBN: 9781440836695Publication Date: 2018-08-03
Find Disciplinary Sources
- Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new window
An all-digital library that aggregates descriptive information and thumbnails for millions of photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, and moving images from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States.
- Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Data on the United States, including demographics, economics, government, & finance from 1790-2000.
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries, 1675-1950 This link opens in a new window
Includes experiences of over 1,000 women through 150,000 pages of diaries and letters. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography. Entries date from the 17th - 2oth century.
- Ohio Memory This link opens in a new window
Explore digital content from over 390 cultural heritage institutions representing all 88 of Ohio’s counties covering a wide range of topics from prehistory to present day. Established in 2000, Ohio Memory is the collaborative statewide digital library program of the Ohio History Connection and the State Library of Ohio.
- Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new windowA collection of reference works that focus on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. Includes additional images, primary sources with specially written commentaries, and maps. Access provided to more than 20,000 articles, 700 primary sources, 2500 images, and 200 maps.
- Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500–1926 This link opens in a new window
Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500–1926 is drawn from Joseph Sabin's famed nineteenth century bibliography Bibliotheca Americana: A Dictionary of Book relating to America from its Discovery to the Present Time. This digital collection offers a perspective on life in the western hemisphere, encompassing the arrival of the Europeans on the shores of North America in the late fifteenth century to the first decades of the twentieth century. Covering more than 400 years and more than 65,000 volumes in North, Central, and South America and the West Indies, this collection highlights the society, politics, religious beliefs, culture, contemporary opinions, and momentous events of the time through sermons, political tracts, newspapers, books, pamphlets, maps, legislation, literature, and more.
- Sanborn Insurance Maps This link opens in a new window
Contains large scale street plans of Ohio cities produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance Company from 1882 to 1962.
Voices of the American Indian Experience [2 Volumes] by ISBN: 9780313381171Publication Date: 2012-11-30
Voices of Revolutionary America: Contemporary Accounts of Daily Life by ISBN: 9780313377334Publication Date: 2011-05-23
