Library Guides: EDT 411/413/511/544: Social Studies Methods: Government

Government

"Students use knowledge of the purposes, structures and processes of political systems at the local, state, national and international levels to understand that people create systems of government as structures of power and authority to provide order, maintain stability and promote the general welfare. They use knowledge of the rights and responsibilities of citizenship to examine and evaluate civic ideals and to participate in community life and the American democratic system."

Ohio's Learning Standards for Social Studies

Build Your Understanding

American Governance by Stephen Schechter (Editor)
ISBN: 9780028662497

Publication Date: 2016-02-12
American Legal History: a Very Short Introduction by G. Edward White
ISBN: 9780199766000

Publication Date: 2013
American Politics: a Very Short Introduction by Richard M. Valelly
ISBN: 9780195373851

Publication Date: 2013
Encyclopedia of Constitutional Amendments, Proposed Amendments, and Amending Issues, 1789-2015 by John R. Vile
ISBN: 1610699319

Publication Date: 2015-07-20
Encyclopedia of Modern Political Thought (set) by Gregory Claeys
ISBN: 9780872899100

Publication Date: 2013

Political Science Complete
A database covering scholarly articles, books, and reports in political science, offering insights into political theory, international relations, and public policy.
This full-text research database covers political topics with a worldwide focus, including international relations, political theory and comparative politics. With hundreds of full-text journals and thousands of conference papers, it is a valuable resource for political science researchers and government institutions. Subjects covered include: comparative government; constitutions & laws; democracy; humanitarian issues; ideology; international relations; law & legislation; national interest; non-governmental organizations; partisanship; political behavior, economy, partisanship, philosophy, systems, theory, and thought; power; practical politics; public administration; social order; and systems of governance.

Find Disciplinary Sources

"Government" Entry from World Book Kids

Making of the Modern World
A digital archive offering access to a collection of historical texts and documents from the 15th to the 20th centuries, focusing on economics, political science, and social history.
This multilingual collection of primary sources covers the history of Western trade, encompassing the coal, iron, and steel industries, the railway industry, the cotton industry, banking and finance, and the emergence of the modern corporation. It is also strong in the rise of the modern labor movement, the evolving status of slavery, the condition and making of the working class, colonization, the Atlantic world, Latin American/Caribbean studies, social history, gender, and the economic theories that championed and challenged capitalism in the nineteenth century. In addition, the archive offers resources on the role of finance and taxation and the growth of the early modern monarchy. It features essential texts covering the function of financial institutions, the crisis of the French monarchy and the French Revolution at the end of the eighteenth century, and the connection between the democratic goals of revolutionaries and their legal aspirations. The collection is broken into three parts which can be searched together or individually. Part I: The Goldsmiths'-Kress Collection, 1450-1850; Part II: 1851-1914; Part III: 1890-1945.