Library Guides: EDT 411/413/511/544: Social Studies Methods: Second Grade

Build Your Understanding

"Factory Work" Entry from Encyclopedia of European Social History
"Work" Entry from International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
A summary of various perspectives on work and its meaning.
"Work" Entry from The Ancient Near East: An Encyclopedia for Students
Descriptions of work in the ancient Near East.
"Work and Women" Entry from International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
Smithsonian Learning Lab
The Learning Lab is a free, interactive platform for discovering millions of authentic digital resources, creating content with online tools, and sharing in the Smithsonian's expansive community of knowledge and learning.

History of Science, Technology, & Medicine
Access literature on the history of science, technology, and medicine, including journal articles, books, and conference proceedings, supporting interdisciplinary research. Effective May 13, EBSCO databases will debut new features and an updated design. Learn more.
By integrating four bibliographies—the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology, the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza, and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine, this collection reflects the influences these fields have had on society and culture throughout time. It is an index of scholarship on the history of a wide range of scientific disciplines, including biological science, computer and information sciences, engineering, geography, mathematics, medicine, neurosciences, pharmacy, physics, psychiatry, public health, and technology. Scientific developments from prehistory to the present are covered. Resource types indexed include journal articles, conference proceedings, books, serials, maps, book reviews, and dissertations.