EDT 411/413/511/544: Social Studies Methods

Produced by the American Economic Association (AEA), this academic literature abstracting database indexes scholarly English language journals, dissertations, working papers, and books in the field of economics. It encompasses a variety of subjects, including capital markets, county studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics, and more. EconLit covers material dating back to 1969 and includes the full-text of book reviews published in the Journal of Economic Literature since 1993. This is the electronic continuation of the print publication "Journal of Economic Abstracts."

This multilingual collection of primary sources covers the history of Western trade, encompassing the coal, iron, and steel industries, the railway industry, the cotton industry, banking and finance, and the emergence of the modern corporation. It is also strong in the rise of the modern labor movement, the evolving status of slavery, the condition and making of the working class, colonization, the Atlantic world, Latin American/Caribbean studies, social history, gender, and the economic theories that championed and challenged capitalism in the nineteenth century. In addition, the archive offers resources on the role of finance and taxation and the growth of the early modern monarchy. It features essential texts covering the function of financial institutions, the crisis of the French monarchy and the French Revolution at the end of the eighteenth century, and the connection between the democratic goals of revolutionaries and their legal aspirations. The collection is broken into three parts which can be searched together or individually. Part I: The Goldsmiths'-Kress Collection, 1450-1850; Part II: 1851-1914; Part III: 1890-1945.