Library Guides: EDT 411/413/511/544: Social Studies Methods: Geography

Geography

"Students use knowledge of geographic locations, patterns and processes to show the interrelationship between the physical environment and human activity and to explain the interactions that occur in an increasingly interdependent world. Students use knowledge of perspectives, practices and products of cultural, ethnic and social groups to analyze the impact of their commonality and diversity within local, national, regional and global settings."

Ohio's Learning Standards for Social Studies

Build Your Understanding

"Geography" Entry from Encyclopedia of Environment and Society
Provides a high level overview of major geographic concepts.
"Geography" Entry from International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
A description of the academic discipline of geography. Provides a high level overview of major geographic concepts.

Human Geography by Lee Lerner (Editor); Brenda Lerner (Editor)
ISBN: 9781414491356
Publication Date: 2013-04-17

Find Disciplinary Sources

Historical Statistics of the United States
Collection of historical data covering various aspects of U.S. history, including economic, demographic, and social statistics, facilitating research and analysis.
This resource provides data on all aspects of American history from colonial times through the year 2000. It is divided into five sections: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, economic sectors, and governance and international relations. Data series relate to the social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences, including history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and trade. This database is the electronic counterpart of the 5-volume print publication "Historical Statistics of the United States: Earliest Times to the Present, Millennial Edition."
Social Explorer
Generates maps, data visualizations, and spreadsheets of Census data from 1790-2010. Additional data available up to the 2020 census.
Updated regularly. Provides easy access to historical census data for the United States. Allows users to visually analyze and understand the demography of any part of the United States with access to the following:

* Interactive thematic maps of historical census data
* Customized reports for any chosen area or areas (including aggregates)
* Complete coverage of the United States, down to neighborhoods and streets
* Simple navigation buttons and a find tool make it easy and efficient to study neighborhoods

Users can examine geographic areas while selecting the type of data to be shown, such as population density or income level. The corresponding data tables are also available.
This online research tool is designed to provide quick and easy access to current and historical US census data and demographic information from 1790-2010, generating maps, data visualizations, and spreadsheets. It creates reports at all geographic levels, including the state, county, census tract, block group, zip code, and census place to show population density, income level, and more. Visually analyze and understand the demography of any part of the United States with access to interactive thematic maps of historical census data. Data sources include the U.S. Decennial Census, the American Community Survey, the FBI Uniform Crime Report, American election results, Religious Congregations and Membership Study (RCMS, updated continuously), Vulcan Project carbon emissions data, U.S. Business Patterns, and County Health Rankings and Roadmaps Program Data. International data is sourced from the United Kingdom Census, Canadian Census, Eurostat, World Development Indicators, and Irish religion and population data.
CultureGrams
A resource providing concise, reliable country reports, offering insights into cultures, traditions, history, and social structures for students and educators.
With four separate editions designed for research focused on the United States, Canadian provinces, the world's 200+ countries and territories, and a child-centered platform, CultureGrams provides country reports that deliver a unique perspective on daily life and culture, including the background, customs, and lifestyles of the world's people. In each report, explore fast facts, general attitudes and personal appearance, the land and climate, customs and courtesies, recreation and holidays, transportation and communications, and so much more about each country and territory. Reports are written and reviewed by in-country experts and are updated as new information becomes available. Explore multimedia features including a photo gallery, video gallery, slideshows, interviews, and tools such as a distance calculator and a currency converter.