Special Collections Sharing Warehouse

1988-1994

This collection contains U.D. Prof. Joseph Watras' transcripts of interviews with students, faculty, administrators and community members about their experiences with desegregation of schools in Dayton. Transcriptions available as PDF files. Recordings will be added as digitization continues.

Online. Made available by University Archives and Special Collections.

by David Goldstein (1919)

"We send forth Bolshevism: Its Cure in the hope that all those who love Old Glory better than the red flag will give heed to the essential difference between those who would work the will of the Marxian destroyers and those who would give to our own dearly beloved Columbia what is due to her under God"--From the Introduction.

Available in the U.S. Catholic Special Collection.

By William Ferree (1948)

The John Stokes and Mary's Gardens collection contains the personal papers of John S. Stokes Jr., and the records of his organization, Mary's Gardens. Stokes was interested in many things, among them social justice and civil rights. Introduction to Social Justice and four other pamphlets from the 1930s and 1940s in his collection have been digitized:

Women Workers in Wartime and Reconversion /Mary T. Waggaman
God in Economic Life / Wilfrid Parsons
Negro Workers in Free America / Francis J. Gilligan
Our Rural Proletariat / Edgar Schmiedeler

Online. Also available in the Marian Library Archives.

1990-2002

Dayton Right to Life society's mission is "to promote life through education and action." This includes the rights of the unborn, elderly, and disabled. The collection includes brochures, newsletters and mailings.

Available in the U.S. Catholic Special Collection.

Compiled by Karl Maria Harrer (1963)

Almost twenty years after the Nazis were defeated, Father Harrer of Munich collected stories about the Virgin Mary in people’s lives. He heard many that took place during World War 2. Who did Mary intercede on behalf of? The persecuted, surely. How about the Allies? How about Nazi soldiers?

Read “Der Miβglückte Bombenangriff,” “Der Ruf der fernen Mutter,” and “Die Statue von Dachau,” among other stories, in these 12 booklets.

Available in the Marian Library.

by Upton Sinclair (1906)

Socialist journalist Upton Sinclair turned his reporting into a novel - and caused an uproar. The book has never been out of print.

Available in University Archives and Special Collections, Albert Emanuel Hall, by appointment.