Business
Business, accounting, management, advertising, marketing
18th Century Ledger
- Records of Santa Maria della Quercia de'Macellari church and confraternity in Rome, 1777-1778 : manuscript
This large ledger itemizes the income and expenditures for the care of a medieval church in Rome for the years 1777-1778. See the cost of the Easter feast, among other things. The church, Chiesa di S.Maria della Quercia dei Macellai di Roma, is in the center of the city.
Available in Marian Library Rare Books by appointment.
Niche Advertising
- Annales de Notre-Dame du Laus (Hautes-Alpes) et Quinzaine religieuse du diocèse de Gap
1899-1930
If you are looking for companies to advertise, how to you decide who to approach? How about if the periodical is for a local shrine? Tourists can mean big business. But wait - do visitors need opticians? Flip through these issues from more than 100 years ago and see what you can discern about the advertisers' goals.
Available in the Marian Library.
Do you wish you could have all this?
- Discovery in advertising
By Richard J. Payne and Robert Heyer (1969)
These authors take deep looks at examples of TV commercials and print ads of the late 1960s to discuss not just the tactics used to influence us to buy, but the influence the messages have on our self esteem, beliefs, and expectations.
Available in the U.S. Catholic Special Collection.
What do Monasteries and Wall Street Have in Common?
- Monasteries on Wall Street? the Ten Commandments of doing ethics in business
By Louis DeThomasis (1988)
Brother Louis re-frames Wall Street as a community, much like a monastery, in which people are dedicated to common goals. Business can be conducted ethically, he believes. He was the founder and chair of the Christian Brothers Investment Services, Inc. and has a Ph.D in financial management from Harvard.
Available in the U.S. Catholic Special Collection.
Capitalism AND the Decentralization of Wealth?
- Eight discourses on the gold standard, and other kindred subjects
By Charles E. Coughlin (1933)
Putting the stock market crash in the past, Couglin sees the country entering a new era. He advocates revaluation of gold and a method to handle debt: the Christian and American method -- "therefore, the sensible method ... means the decentralization of wealth." This is capitalism? Read his answer.
Available in the U.S. Catholic Special Collection.
"Enterprise" TV show: Recession-busting
- Recession-Busting Special (1980s Enterprise Anniversary Series)
Host of the Dayton "Enterprise" television show, Glenn Walters, begins this show by saying “We believe recession is a state of mind. You can sit around and wait for something bad to happen or you can get fired up and make something good happen.” He shares stories from “great organizations and great people who are simply getting on with business.” From the Glenn Walters Collection. (Illustration: Frees Correctional Equipment plant in Tipp City.)
30 min.
Online. Made available by University Archives and Special Collections.
"Enterprise" TV show: Mead Data Corporation
- Mead Data Corporation (1980s Enterprise Anniversary Series)
In 1967 Mead Data Corporation began building technology they called Computer-assisted information management. See CEO Jack Simpson for a 1980's look back on the Dayton television show "Enterprise" produced by Glenn Walters. In the Glenn Walters Collection.
30 min.
Online. Made available by University Archives and Special Collections.
"Enterprise" TV Show: 1958, A Year in Review
- 1958 Year in Review
Glenn Walters, host of Dayton's "Enterprise" television program gives an overview of some favorite local stories of the year, including an interview with space pioneer Arthur Kit Murray at Wright-Patt and people in Dayton who work with missiles, satellites and vibration control devices. He also mentions two local companies that were thriving, Dorothy Lane Market and the Standard Register Company. In the Glenn Walters Collection.
5 min.
Online. Made available by University Archives and Special Collections.
