Sciences, Engineering
Biology, botany, chemistry, physics, engineering
Tallest, but not Most Stable
- La cathedrale de Beauvais
by V. Leblond (1933)
Once the tallest human construction in the world, the gothic choir of the Cathédrale de Beauvais stood 502 feet high in 1569. Read about the artisans as they built the structure and watched its partial collapse - twice. The building has never been completed.
Available in the Marian Library.
< Beep >
- The use of auditory feedback in simple remote-handling tasks
By William N. Kama, Louis T. Pope, Ph.D, and D. Frederick Baker (1964)
In our archives you can read full research reports written more than 50 years ago. This study, performed in 1964 at the Human Engineering Division of Wright-Patt's Behavioral Sciences Laboratory, looked at whether or not sounds helped people perform tasks.
Available in University Archives and Special Collections, Albert Emanuel Hall, by appointment.
Cyclical observations and notes, 1652
- Effemeride astrologica et historica
By Nicolas Caussin (1652)
“A very curious work, very useful to anyone eager to learn”— according to the publisher of this Italian translation. An ephemeris provides data for use by astrologers, historians, or anyone interested in investigating cyclical change through history.
Online via Google Books. Available in University Archives and Special Collections, Albert Emanuel Hall, by appointment.
What Botany can Tell Us About Us
- The botany of empire in the long eighteenth century
Edited by Yota Batsaki, Sarah Burke Cahalan, Anatole Tchikine (2016)
Investigate the cultural, economic, and political significance of plants in an era of exploration, new scientific agendas, experimentation, and trade in botanical specimens.
Available in University Archives and Special Collections, Albert Emanuel Hall, by appointment.
Preserved for more than 100 years
- Wild flowers from Palestine
Gathered and pressed by Harvey B. Greene (between 1898 and 1907)
See a collection of sixteen pressed flower specimens of this Mediterranean region. Pictured here: the Madonna flower.
Online. Available in Marian Library Rare Books by appointment.
Human Factors Engineering Mid-Century
- The emerging role of engineering psychology
By Julien M. Christensen (1964)
In 1964 the field of Human Factors Engineering was having growing pains. Christensen says, "Engineering psychology is now in its late 'teens' and, in my opinion, is facing problems rather forbidding for a profession so young."
Available in University Archives and Special Collections, Albert Emanuel Hall, by appointment.
Elements of Chemistry
- Elements of chemistry, in which the recent discoveries in the science are included and its doctrines familiarly explained
Illustrated by numerous engravings and designed for the use of schools and academies. By J. L. Comstock (1848)
Read about the recent discoveries in chemistry from 175 years ago.
Available in University Archives and Special Collections, Albert Emanuel Hall, by appointment.
Explosive Times in Chemistry
- Berichte der Deutschen Chemischen Gesellschaft
1868-1944
At the time of remarkable discoveries in the structure and transmutation of atoms and the Curies’ investigations on radioactivity, the German chemistry society’s journal Berichte der Deutschen Chemischen Gesellschaft was publishing cutting edge scholarship. We have a complete set of its more than 75 years in print.
Available in University Archives and Special Collections, Albert Emanuel Hall, by appointment.
Elements of Geology
- Elements of geology, intended for the use of students
By Samuel St. John (1851)
How has the study of geology changed? Check out this text published more than 170 years ago.
Available in University Archives and Special Collections, Albert Emanuel Hall, by appointment.
