Special Collections Sharing Warehouse

Approximately 15th century

This Dominican collection of antiphons for the Divine Office begins with the feast of Christmas and continues through the 4th Sunday after Epiphany, Antiphons are sung or recited before or after a psalm or a canticle.

This large Illuminated manuscript, nearly 500 pages, is on vellum pages, with plainsong notation on five-line staves.

This antiphonary is possibly from a Spanish monastery.

Online. Also available in University Archives and Special Collections, Albert Emanuel Hall, by appointment.

By William Shakespeare
Illustrated by Eric Gill (1933)

A Limited edition printed by Hague and Gill.

Available in University Archives and Special Collections, Albert Emanuel Hall, by appointment.

By Jean Gerbais (1694)

Seventeenth century Parisians filled the theaters. What could be wrong with the witty satirical plays of Molière and Boursault? A professor at the Sorbonne had plenty to say about this kind of "comedie."

Available in University Archives and Special Collections, Albert Emanuel Hall, by appointment.

Vigilanti cura (29 June 1936). English.

The cinema must "elevate," Pope Pius said, not encourage depravity and loss of morals. He encouraged all Catholics to take the "Legion of Decency" Pledge, to boycott any film the Church found unsuitable.

Online version from the Vatican. Also available in the U.S. Catholic Special Collection.

By Maureen Sabine (2013)

Do you think films have a stereotypical view of nuns? This author would disagree. She reviewed more than 60 years' worth of films and discusses the relative sophistication of nuns' characters and the fulfillment they find in spiritual life.

Available in the U.S. Catholic Special Collection and Roesch.

By Gregory D. Black (1994)

Based on an extensive survey of original studio records, censorship files, and the Catholic Legion of Decency archives (whose contents are published here for the first time), Hollywood Censored examines how hundreds of films were expurgated to promote a conservative political agenda during the 1930s.

Available in the U.S. Catholic Special Collection

Glenn Walters had an active career as a nontheatrical film and television producer. His company, Valdhere, Inc., produced the Enterprise Television Show from the 1950s to 1980s. The recordings cover business and industry of the region.

Online. Made available by University Archives and Special Collections.

View selected interviews online.

Bette Rogge Morse (B.A., class of 1944; M.A., class of 1977) was an active radio and television personality in the Dayton area since 1951. She hosted several talk shows on local television and had the chance to meet many celebrities who passed through town, including legendary actor Douglas Fairbanks, Jr.

Online. Made available by University Archives and Special Collections.

In 1972 Bette Rogge interviewed Keye Luke, a Chinese American film and television actor known for playing "Number One Son" in the Charlie Chan films. Luke was also in the TV series "Anna and the King" and "Kung Fu."
3:22 minutes

Online. Made available by University Archives and Special Collections.

Actress Mary Tyler Moore spoke with Dayton journalist Bette Rogge Morse in 1970. Moore launched her own television show that year, but here they discuss the ballet, clothes, and "The Bob Newhart Show."
4:39 minutes

Online. Made available by University Archives and Special Collections.

The Enterprise television show gets an insider's look at "the most modern newsroom in Dayton." From the Glenn Walters Collection.
2 min.

Online. Made available by University Archives and Special Collections.