Special Collections Sharing Warehouse

By Christoph von Schmid (1915)

The first story in this collection is about a young boy living in poverty. It is Christmas Eve. In the original German, the story begins as a blond 8-year-old orphan named Anton gets lost in a snowy forest quickly becoming dark. The Chinese version begins with a young boy named An Fu, who is begging on the snowy streets of a city.

Bavarian priest Christoph von Schmid believed the best way to teach children the stories of the Bible and the substance of Christian life was through stories similar to fables or fairytales.

Translated from the French by Ch. Ming, S.J. Originally written in German.

Online. Available in Marian Library Rare Books by appointment.

by Miguel de Cervantes Saavedra
1605 Facsimile

It was this self-proclaimed knight who brought the word quixotic into our vocabulary ("exceedingly idealistic; unrealistic and impractical"). The unusual adventures of the man from la Mancha and his "squire" are the subject of what is known as the first modern novel in Western literature. It is also known as one of the best. This is a facsimile of the first edition, published more than 400 years ago in Madrid.

Available in University Archives and Special Collections, Albert Emanuel Hall, by appointment.

By Matheo de Anguiano (1704)

The Spanish province La Rioja rolls from mountains in the south to the wine country and plains of the north. This extensive history published early in the 18th century tells the story of a people with lineages from Celtic invaders and Basque tribes, and of a place that was once part of the Muslim Al-Andalusa, then fought over for centuries by medieval feudal lords.

Available from the Marian Library.

classés suivant le plan des mots anglais groupés d'après le sens de Mm. Bossert et Beljame (1913)

The oddities of English, for French speakers

Available in University Archives and Special Collections, Albert Emanuel Hall, by appointment.

By Jean Gerbais (1694)

Seventeenth century Parisians filled the theaters. What could be wrong with the witty satirical plays of Molière and Boursault? A professor at the Sorbonne had plenty to say about this kind of "comedie."

Available in University Archives and Special Collections, Albert Emanuel Hall, by appointment.

1899-1930

If you are looking for companies to advertise, how to you decide who to approach? How about if the periodical is for a local shrine? Tourists can mean big business. But wait - do visitors need opticians? Flip through these issues from more than 100 years ago and see what you can discern about the advertisers' goals.

Available in the Marian Library.

By Nicolas Caussin (1652)

“A very curious work, very useful to anyone eager to learn”— according to the publisher of this Italian translation. An ephemeris provides data for use by astrologers, historians, or anyone interested in investigating cyclical change through history.

Online via Google Books. Available in University Archives and Special Collections, Albert Emanuel Hall, by appointment.

by Alessandro Verri (1790)

Little is known about the life of lyric poet Sappho (ca. 630 - 570 B.C.E.) but this early 19th century writer imagined adventures for her on the island of Lesbos.

Available in University Archives and Special Collections, Albert Emanuel Hall, by appointment.

Warm sun; fresh foods of the Mediterranean ... This 1854 book of Italian poetry indulges in the glory of food and healthy living with both wisdom and humor, commenting on everything from basilico to vino to chiocciola. (What exactly is chiocciola?)

Available in University Archives and Special Collections, Albert Emanuel Hall, by appointment.

(1490)

One of three copies in libraries around the world.
“The Miracoli were manuals of intercession, praying made palatable for lay people.… There were three editions published in Venice in the 1480s, five editions there in the 1490s, eight editions in the Terraferma (three in Vicenza, three in Treviso, two in Brescia).…The Miracoli must have been read so avidly that they now exist often in single copies.”--Chavasse, R., (1996) "Latin Lay Piety and Vernacular Lay Piety in Word and Image: Venice, 1471-Early-1500s," Renaissance studies, 10, 3, pages 319-342.

Illustration: The Devil, angry at being portrayed as ugly, tries to push the artist off the scaffold. The artist is saved from falling by Mary, who comes alive out of the painting just in time to grab and save him. (Frontispiece to a 1505 edition)

Available in the Marian Library, by appointment.

(1752)
Vampire attacks? Spirit apparitions? Augustin Calmet, a Benedictine monk living in the 18th century, decided to re-examine cases of inexplicable events to determine their legitimacy. His book Dissertations sur les apparitions des anges, des demons & des ésprits was quickly translated into other languages and widely read. Events in the book appeared in Sheridan Le Fanu’s novella Carmilla, which in turn inspired Bram Stoker’s novel Dracula.

Available in University Archives and Special Collections, Albert Emanuel Hall, by appointment.

Compiled by Karl Maria Harrer (1963)

Almost twenty years after the Nazis were defeated, Father Harrer of Munich collected stories about the Virgin Mary in people’s lives. He heard many that took place during World War 2. Who did Mary intercede on behalf of? The persecuted, surely. How about the Allies? How about Nazi soldiers?

Read “Der Miβglückte Bombenangriff,” “Der Ruf der fernen Mutter,” and “Die Statue von Dachau,” among other stories, in these 12 booklets.

Available in the Marian Library.

1868-1944

At the time of remarkable discoveries in the structure and transmutation of atoms and the Curies’ investigations on radioactivity, the German chemistry society’s journal Berichte der Deutschen Chemischen Gesellschaft was publishing cutting edge scholarship. We have a complete set of its more than 75 years in print.

Available in University Archives and Special Collections, Albert Emanuel Hall, by appointment.

By Eṣam Al-Ḥorānī (1994)

In Arabic.

Available in University Archives and Special Collections, Albert Emanuel Hall, by appointment.

Mamusse Wunneetupanatamwe Up-Biblum God is the first Bible printed in what is now the United States and in a Native American language. John Eliot, a Cambridge scholar, Christian missionary, translator and linguist, learned the Wôpanâak dialect of the tribes of colonial New England with the assistance of several native speakers. His New Testament translation was printed in 1661. Two years later, he completed the Old Testament in Wôpanâak. His translations documented a language that didn’t exist in written form before his translation.

Online and available in University Archives and Special Collections, Albert Emanuel Hall, by appointment.