History and culture
History, culture, ethnicities, anti-racism, race studies
Historical hotspot
- Compendio historial de la provincia de la Rioja, de sus santos, y milagrosos santuarios
By Matheo de Anguiano (1704)
The Spanish province La Rioja rolls from mountains in the south to the wine country and plains of the north. This extensive history published early in the 18th century tells the story of a people with lineages from Celtic invaders and Basque tribes, and of a place that was once part of the Muslim Al-Andalusa, then fought over for centuries by medieval feudal lords.
Available from the Marian Library.
Stories of the Wright Brothers and Charles Kettering
- Wright Brothers - Charles F. Kettering Oral History Project
(1967)
This collection of interviews with people who knew and interacted with Orville Wright, Wilbur Wright and/or Charles F. Kettering took place during the 1966-67 academic year. Transcriptions available in PDF format.
Online. Made available by University Archives and Special Collections.
Lithuanian Americans
- Knights of Lithuania
1913-
The Knights of Lithuania is an active Catholic cultural organization. In addition to dozens of online photos, the collection includes financial records, meeting minutes, photographs, VHS tapes, DVDs, CDs, newspaper clippings, film, correspondence, slides, microfilm, programs, and cassettes.
Available in the U.S. Catholic Special Collection.
1913 Flood
- 1913 Dayton Flood
1913
The flood was the greatest natural disaster in Ohio history. 17 billion cubic feet of water rushed through downtown Dayton in 48 hours on March 23, just after Easter weekend.
Original footage online. 30 min. From the Glenn Walters Collection, available through University Archives and Special Collections, Albert Emanuel Hall.
Chinese American actor
- Keye Luke interviewed by Bette Rogge Morse
In 1972 Bette Rogge interviewed Keye Luke, a Chinese American film and television actor known for playing "Number One Son" in the Charlie Chan films. Luke was also in the TV series "Anna and the King" and "Kung Fu."
3:22 minutes
Online. Made available by University Archives and Special Collections.
Catholic Education of Indigenous Communities in Mexico
- Cathecismo de la doctrina christiana, en lengua zaapoteca
By Leonardo Levanto (1776)
This book is a rare catechism in the Zapotec language with Spanish introductions. Written for Catholic education of the Zapotec peoples, an indigenous community in Oaxaca, Mexico. The Marian Library copy was previously owned by Fr. Angelico Chavez, a well-known historian, author, poet, painter, and priest from New Mexico.
Available in the Marian Library.
California missionary
- Junipero Serra, pioneer colonist of California
by Agnes Repplier (1933)
In 2015 Pope Francis declared Fray Serra a saint and this portrayal, written by a devout Catholic, tells his how he took "the lovely but savage wilderness and made it blossom like a rose."
However, not everyone sees his establishment of nine missions in California and avid conversion of Native Americans as saintly pursuits.
Available in the U.S. Catholic Special Collection.
Franciscans and Indigenous Communities in the American West
- The Franciscans in New Mexico
By Zephyrin Englehardt (1918-1922)
A comprehensive history of Franciscans in the New Mexico area from the first Catholic explorer to Engelhardt’s time. Although a well-known historian for his works on Franciscans in California and Arizona, these chapters from The Franciscan Herald are his only known publications on New Mexico. He recounts the history of the many of the Franciscan missions in New Mexico and their interactions with Indigenous communities. He recounts the history of the many of the New Mexico Franciscan missions and their interactions with Indigenous communities.
Available in the U.S. Catholic Special Collection.
Missionaries' Messages
- Die Katholischen Missionen
Published 1873-1998
Die Katholischen Missionen featured illustrations and photographs of indigenous people in the places the Jesuits proselytized. What do the pictures tell us about the people in the pictures? About the people who created the pictures and their audience?
Available in University Archives and Special Collections, Albert Emanuel Hall, by appointment. - Revue des soeurs missionnaires de Notre-Dame d'Afrique
1954
This is a single issue of a journal published by the Missionary Sisters of Our Lady of Africa, also known as the White Sisters. They were in the Democratic Republic of Congo in the mid-1950s. Available from the Marian Library. - America: The Jesuit Review
1909-
Here's another journal published by the Jesuit order. It says its intention is to provide "editorial content for thinking Catholics" and to lead "the conversation about faith and culture."
Available online.
The University of Dayton Libraries have copies of many rare journals as well as subscriptions to many current publications. How are the messages of these evangelist journals the same and how are they different?
