Primary sources
Newspapers, documents, journals, oral histories,
Stories of the Wright Brothers and Charles Kettering
- Wright Brothers - Charles F. Kettering Oral History Project
(1967)
This collection of interviews with people who knew and interacted with Orville Wright, Wilbur Wright and/or Charles F. Kettering took place during the 1966-67 academic year. Transcriptions available in PDF format.
Online. Made available by University Archives and Special Collections.
16th Century Papal Bull
- Clement VII, 1523
Not all papal bulls have consequences across the world. This one, promulgated by Clement VII, is specifically for a man from Modena, Italy, named Julius Ceasar Columbus. It says that he exempted from the spiritual jurisdiction of the diocesan bishop.
Available in University Archives and Special Collections, Albert Emanuel Hall, by appointment.
Believe-- by Royal Decree
- El Rey
In 1761 Charles III, King of Spain, sent out a royal decree: everyone will believe in the authenticity of the doctrine of the Immaculate Conception. Secular and religious officials throughout the Spanish Indies were told to ensure the distribution of the decree, along with the papal text, and promulgate the adulation of the cult of the Immaculate Conception of the Virgin Mary. See the cedula with its official seal.
Available in Marian Library Rare Books.
Flyer News
- Flyer News
(1947; 2008-2017) Digitization in process.
The University of Dayton’s student newspaper.
Online. Available in University Archives and Special Collections, Albert Emanuel Hall, by appointment.
Exponent
- The University of Dayton Exponent
(1903-1920) Digitization in process.
Published monthly in the interest of the students of St. Mary's Institute. Contents include essays, editorials, exchanges, alumni notes, university chronicle, and athletic notes.
Online. Available in University Archives and Special Collections, Albert Emanuel Hall, by appointment.
UD's Black Action Through Unity
- Uhuru
1977-1980
Uhuru was the campus newsletter of the student organization Black Action Through Unity (BATU).
Available in University Archives and Special Collections, Albert Emanuel Hall, by appointment.
School Desegregation in Dayton
- Joseph Watras Interviews
1988-1994
This collection contains U.D. Prof. Joseph Watras' transcripts of interviews with students, faculty, administrators and community members about their experiences with desegregation of schools in Dayton. Transcriptions available as PDF files. Recordings will be added as digitization continues.
Online. Made available by University Archives and Special Collections.
A British Woman sees Italy
- Two Months in Italy: A Travel Journal
In 1864 an "accomplished" British woman, Mrs. E. A. Bean, traveled for two months across Italy, seeing Florence, Pisa, Rome, Bologna, Lucca and other cities. Her travel journal includes drawings and images of art and architecture she saw on her journey as well as commentary on the people she met.
Online and available in the Marian Library Archives.
18th Century Ledger
- Records of Santa Maria della Quercia de'Macellari church and confraternity in Rome, 1777-1778 : manuscript
This large ledger itemizes the income and expenditures for the care of a medieval church in Rome for the years 1777-1778. See the cost of the Easter feast, among other things. The church, Chiesa di S.Maria della Quercia dei Macellai di Roma, is in the center of the city.
Available in Marian Library Rare Books by appointment.
Crowd Control
- Notificazione per il santo pellegrinaggio al Santuario di Loreto
(1838)
Posted on public walls around Fermo, Italy, this broadside provided specific regulations to control the large number of pilgrims visiting Loreto in the 1830s. The edict was issued by the archbishop of Fermo, a small town which served as a popular departure point.
Available in Marian Library Rare Books, by appointment.
