Education, Children's Literature
Education, teaching, children's literature
How to Teach
- How to teach. A graded course of instruction and manual of methods for the use of teachers
By Henry Kiddle ... Thomas F. Harrison ... N.A. Calkins (1877)
When teaching beginning readers: “Let each word be taught first at sight, as a whole, and the sounds and names of the letters which compose the word be taught afterward…” Following decades of educational theory and research may make this gentle guide from 1877 seem simplistic, but its calm, no-nonsense directions may have given confidence to many.
Available in University Archives and Special Collections, Albert Emanuel Hall, by appointment.
School Desegregation in Dayton
- Joseph Watras Interviews
1988-1994
This collection contains U.D. Prof. Joseph Watras' transcripts of interviews with students, faculty, administrators and community members about their experiences with desegregation of schools in Dayton. Transcriptions available as PDF files. Recordings will be added as digitization continues.
Online. Made available by University Archives and Special Collections.
"The dullard is the trial of every teacher ..."
- The making and the unmaking of a dullard
By Thomas Edward Shields (1909)
The author’s choice of the word "dullard" speaks volumes about the kind of advice shared in this book written more than 100 years ago.
Available in University Archives and Special Collections, Albert Emanuel Hall, by appointment.
Open Sesame
- The tale of Ali Baba & the forty thieves
literally translated from the Arabic into French by J.C. Mardrus, and then translated into modern English by E. Powys Mathers. Illustrated by Edward Ardizzone
Published for the Limited Editions Club (1949)
Who doesn't love the idea of endless treasure in a hidden cave? A beautifully illustrated limited edition.
Available in University Archives and Special Collections
Peter Pan, First Edition
- Peter Pan, or, The Boy Who Would Not Grow Up
By J.M. Barrie (1928)
Peter Pan's debut was in Barrie's 1902 novel The Little White Bird. In 1904 Barrie published the play "Peter Pan," centered on this charming character. It was a huge hit. In 1928 the play was transformed into a novel.
Available in the Victor and Irene Special Collection in University Archives and Special Collections, Albert Emanuel Hall, by appointment.
A Special Bird
- The Ugly Duckling
By Hans Christian Andersen; translated from the Danish by Jean Hersholt and illustrated by Everett Gee Jackson (1949)
Issued as a limited edition and signed by the artist.
Available in University Archives and Special Collections, Albert Emanuel Hall, by appointment.
