UD access to Nexis Uni (LexisNexis) ended June 30; replaced with Access World News
Several data points have informed the University Libraries’ decision to replace Nexis Uni (also known as LexisNexis) with a new-to-UD database, Access World News. Liaison librarians are here to offer support during this transition. View the list of librarians or contact the library for a referral.
Access World News includes:
-
12,000 total sources with 100+ Ohio publications and representation from 200 countries.
-
Includes the Columbus Dispatch and the Dayton Daily News and many more.
-
-
300+ full-color PDF newspapers with same-day delivery from around the globe.
-
Seamless integration with library databases and discovery tools such as UDiscover.
-
Diverse news media such as trade journals, video and audio files, broadcast transcripts and web-only content.
Instead of Nexis Uni, we suggest other sources to find company profiles and legal cases. See below.
- Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national, and local news sources. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.
Company Profiles
- Statista This link opens in a new window
Providing statistical data for over 170 industries in 50 countries.
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Company data for U.S. and international public and private companies. Includes industry reports for North America, Asia/Pacific, Europe and Latin America by country and region; U.S. executive profiles; equity research reports; and more.
- NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Updated daily. Provides a comprehensive, professional source of investment information and analysis on industries and companies. Full text coverage includes stock, bond, and mutual fund guides and reports; earnings and dividends reports; comprehensive company information; industry surveys for 52 major U.S. industries; and directories of companies, executives and security dealers
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from thousands of scholarly business journals, magazines, and trade journals from the fields of marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics. Plus company and industry profiles, SWOT analyses, country economic reports, financial data, and investment reports.
See the Company Research tab on the Business subject guide, which has additional resources for company information.
Legal Research
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Large database of citations from papers, reports and books.
- Legal Collection This link opens in a new window
A source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world, this collection includes law journals, documents, and case studies. Full-text access provided to more than 140 journals.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Online searchable, legal research collection includes Law Journal Library of U.S. and foreign titles providing comprehensive coverage, Congressional Record bound volumes, U.S. Reports, state statutes and session laws, legal classics, world famous trials, the United Nations and League of Nations Treaty Series, U.S. Treaties, the Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations and various, specialized collections.
More Information
Declining usage of and content within Nexis Uni, significant cost savings, faculty feedback and comparisons with other schools were considered in the decision-making process. The library continuously evaluates every subscription we pay for in order to remain fiscally responsible in the current budget climate while still addressing research and teaching needs.
