Library Guides: News Reading and Writing: Introduction

Free Subscriptions

Current University of Dayton faculty, staff and students can create free accounts for:

Popular Premium Content

Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
A database offering global news content, including newspapers, broadcasts, and online sources, enabling users to explore diverse perspectives and historical archives.
Research diverse perspectives, topics, and trends in this collection of current news sources, including North American and international newspapers, wire services, and broadcast news transcripts. It covers local, regional, and world issues, politics, government policies, sports, industries, cultural activities, schools, and people and events in local communities. Search curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, and International Studies, or more specific subjects such as African American Studies, Communication, Journalism, and Media Studies, Criminal Justice, Planning, Public Policy, and Public Administration, Social Work, and Sociology.
AP Stylebook This link opens in a new window
This online AP Stylebook for media writing contains everything from the print version plus regular updates, custom University of Dayton entries and the full archive of "Ask the Editor."
This online stylebook is a searchable, customizable guide for writers and editors. Topical Guides offer guidance to help write about events in the news. Access guidance on the usage of commonly used words, a list of punctuation mark entries, and prefixes and suffixes. Includes UD's custom stylebook for university publications.
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
A leading source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.
Flipster This link opens in a new window
Digital magazine collection that makes it easy to read magazines on your computer or mobile device. Fully digital access provided to 20 subscribed titles across both popular and scholarly topics.
New York Times Online This link opens in a new window
Current access to the digital edition of the New York Times. Requires individual login and password set up. Access for UD faculty, staff, and students only.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 500 regional, national & international newspapers. Also contains transcripts from CBS News, CNN, FOX News, and NPR.
Wall Street Journal Online This link opens in a new window
Requires individual login and password set up. Access for UD faculty, staff, and students only. Business-focused, international daily newspaper based in New York City.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Collection of films covering a broad range of subjects. Films include documentaries as well as feature films.