News Reading and Writing

As the oldest general-interest monthly magazine in America, Harper's explores the issues that drive our national conversation, providing a unique perspective on politics, society, the environment, and culture. Browse 175 years of essays, fiction, and long-form narrative journalism from both distinguished and promising new voices. Access includes the issues dating back to June 1850 until the current issue.

This collection of digitized alternative press newspapers, magazines, and journals were published in the United States in the 1960s, 70s, and 80s. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, and the extreme right-wing press. The collection also includes alternative literary magazines, known as “little magazines,” which published experimental and avant-garde works. The publications in this collection were sourced from libraries, archives, historical societies, and community groups throughout the United States.

This database provides full-text for more than 500 regional, national, and international newspapers, plus full-text television and radio news transcripts from organizations including CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, and NPR.

This archive provides access to every page of The New Yorker going back to its first issue in 1925. This weekly magazine provides a mix of reporting on national and international politics and culture, profiles of people, humor and cartoons, fiction and poetry, and reviews and criticism of books, movies, theatre, classical and popular music, television, art, and fashion.

Formerly known as Business News Wire, this article database provides comprehensive, full-text for metropolitan and rural area business publications in the United States and Canada. Users can search newspapers, magazines, trade publications, newswires, and television and radio transcripts from trusted news sources.

This article database provides complete cover-to-cover coverage of National Geographic Magazine, including all articles, books, videos, photographs, maps, and advertisements from 1888 to 2015. Browse topics such as animals, the environment, national and world history, people and cultures, science and technology, and travel.