Library Guides: E-Books at the University of Dayton: STEM & Biomedical E-Book Collections

STEM & Biomedical

The following list contains relevant e-book collections for STEM and biomedical disciplines. UD Libraries does not provide access to all of the e-book titles within these packages, but we do provide access to many of them. Each individual collection can be browsed by selecting the title link (for example "APA Books," "ASM Handbooks Online," etc). Note: the individual e-books found within these packages can also be discovered via the UD Library catalog.

APA Books This link opens in a new window
A collection of scholarly books published by the American Psychological Association, covering topics in psychology, mental health, education, and behavioral sciences.
Easily search in over 245,000 APA PsycArticles and APA Books, published by the American Psychological Association between 1894 and the present. Browse the most indexed terms: test construction, rats, psychologists, memory, psychology, human sex differences, major depression, college students, age differences, and test validity. Quickly narrow a search by methodology: empirical study, quantitative, longitudinal, qualitative, or follow-up study, interview, literature review, or meta analysis.
ASM Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Access materials properties, processing, and performance information, featuring a wide range of ASM handbooks for research and engineering applications.
The ASM Handbook is a comprehensive and authoritative guide to the structure, properties, processing, performance, and evaluation of metals and nonmetallic engineering materials. This reference source contains all of the data and information from 24 volumes of the ASM Handbook series; as well as the two ASM Desk Editions. These volumes provide information and data about the selection, processing, performance, and analysis of structural metals and nonmetallic engineering materials. ASM Handbooks Online features full text searching, navigation, and linking over all volumes of the ASM Handbook from one point of access.
ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database offering access to standards, specifications, and technical documents from ASTM International, supporting research and compliance in materials and engineering.
Formerly known as American Society for Testing and Materials, ASTM International develops and delivers voluntary consensus standards to improve product quality, enhance health and safety, strengthen market access and trade, and build consumer confidence. ASTM Compass is the repository for industry standards and technical information produced by ASTM International. Content includes the Book of Standards, research reports, journals, manuals, monographs, technical papers and reports, data series, and market intelligence reports. It covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering. Topics covered include Fatigue and Fracture Mechanics, Guide for Sampling and Analysis, Metallography and Resinography, Testing of Metallic and Inorganic Coatings, Performance and Durability of Building Sealants, and more.
Cambridge Core E-books This link opens in a new window
A platform offering thousands of scholarly e-books across disciplines, enabling online reading, downloads, and advanced search features for research.
Cambridge Core E-books is a comprehensive online platform that provides access to a vast collection of scholarly books published by Cambridge University Press. The database covers a wide range of academic disciplines, including humanities, social sciences, and sciences. It offers full-text access to thousands of e-books, with new titles added regularly. Users can search, browse, and read books online, as well as download chapters or entire books in PDF format. The platform features advanced search capabilities, allowing researchers to find relevant content quickly. Cambridge Core E-books also provides citation tools, bookmarking options, and the ability to save and export references. Many of the e-books are available through institutional subscriptions, while some titles may be accessed through open access publishing agreements. This resource serves as an invaluable tool for students, researchers, and faculty members seeking high-quality academic content across various fields of study.
Elsevier E-books This link opens in a new window
E-books in subjects including earth and planetary sciences, engineering and computing, life and biological sciences, medical sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences.
IOPscience This link opens in a new window
Physics, materials science, biosciences, astronomy and astrophysics, environmental sciences, mathematics and education research articles and conference papers. Also includes over 90 e-books
MIT Press Direct This link opens in a new window
Access the complete collection of more than 3,000 eBooks from MIT Press. Subject areas covered include art and architecture, biomedical sciences, business and finance, computer science, cognitive science, design, education, environment, game studies, humanities, information science, linguistics, neuroscience, new media, philosophy, and social sciences.
E-books are DRM-free, downloadable as chapter PDFs, with no simultaneous user limit.
OhioLINK Electronic Book Center This link opens in a new window
Contains scholarly and reference electronic books purchased by Ohio academic libraries
Psychiatry Online Core This link opens in a new window
Provides unlimited online access to Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders: DSM-5, Spanish edition of the Desk Reference to the Diagnostic Criteria from DSM-5, Psychiatric Services, Psychiatric News, and The American Journal of Psychiatry.
SPIE Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Digital collection representing the work of the International Society for Optics & Photonics. Holdings include fully archived conference proceedings, journals and ebooks.
Springer Nature Link This link opens in a new window
Contains scholarly journals & e-books published by Springer in science, technology, and medicine, as well as social sciences and humanities, & business and economics.
Wiley Online Library E-Books This link opens in a new window
Collection of STEM and medical-focused e-books published by Blackwells, Wiley or Blackwells/Wiley.
De Gruyter University Press e-books This link opens in a new window
E-books from Columbia, Harvard, California, Stanford, Toronto, and University of Pennsylvania, Rutgers and Penn State presses covering a variety of subjects, including sciences, humanities, business, technology, medicine, law, and more.