Library Guides: E-Books at the University of Dayton: Overview

Overview

UD Libraries provides all students, faculty and staff with access to hundreds of thousands of electronic books (e-books) across nearly all subject areas. All titles are provided to any UD user free of charge, and the vast majority can be downloaded as PDFs, while others can be viewed within a browser or on a personal reading device. These e-books are in addition to the 400,000+ print books that we provide.

Guide Highlights . . .

How to find relevant e-books across UD's holdings,
How to access (download/print/save) these e-books, and
How to request titles when UD does not have it immediately available, either through OhioLINK or through Interlibrary Loan

Note: these collections are purchased by our library faculty and staff to support UD's research and instruction needs. If you are a UD faculty or staff member and feel that our collection is missing an important e-book that would help with your work or research, then please don't hesitate to contact us directly to suggest a purchase.

Quick Links

UD Catalog This link opens in a new window
Connect to the University of Dayton Online Catalog to search for books and other materials held by the UD University Libraries.
Connect to the University of Dayton Online Catalog to search for books, journals, and other materials held by the UD University Libraries, including Roesch Library, Marian Library, US Catholic Special Collections, Archives, Rare Books, Leisure Reading, Government Documents (GovDocs), Electronic Resources, Learning Teaching Center (LTC), Zimmerman Law Library, Curriculum Materials Center, and Multi-Ethnic Education & Engagement Center (MEC). Easily narrow a search to find print and e-books, theses, dissertations, manuscripts, print and e-journals, music, video, maps, instructional material, and more.
OhioLINK Electronic Book Center This link opens in a new window
A digital library offering access to a wide range of electronic books across various subjects, supporting research and education for users in Ohio and beyond.
The EBC provides access to more than 200,000 e-books. Titles feature reference works, American and English literature and technology titles purchased by Ohio academic libraries. Browse content in the following categories: architecture, art, Bibles, biography & autobiography, business & economics, computers, cooking, design, drama, education, family & relationships, fiction, foreign language study, games & activities, health & fitness, history, juvenile nonfiction, language arts, law, literary collections, literary criticism, mathematics, medical, music, nature, performing arts, pets, philosophy, photography, poetry, political science, psychology, reference, religion, science, self-help, social science, sports & recreation, technology & engineering, and young adult nonfiction.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Access an array of e-books across various subjects, providing users with access to scholarly texts, reference materials, and educational resources. Effective May 13, EBSCO databases will debut new features and an updated design. Learn more.
Formerly called NetLibrary, this collection provides full-text e-books covering a broad range of scholarly disciplines, including atmospheric, oceanic, and climate studies; arts and humanities; literature; biomedical, chemical, civil, electrical, computer, environmental, industrial systems, mechanical, and nuclear engineering; business; computer science; and materials science. Books range in audience level from basic introductory texts to scholarly monographs. Search the collection by title, author, subject or keyword, publication dates, and more. This platform operates on the library check-out model, where readers check out e-books for a specified amount of time.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a vast collection of e-books across diverse subjects, offering features like online reading, downloading, and citation tools for research and academic use.
The University of Dayton selectively licenses e-book titles from ProQuest Ebook Central and provides full-text access to them from the ProQuest platform and in the UD Library Catalog. Subject coverage includes business & economics, computers & IT, education, engineering & technology, history & political science, the humanities, language, literature & linguistics, law, international relations & public policy, life sciences, medical, nursing & allied health, physical sciences, psychology & social work, religion, philosophy & classics, and sociology & anthropology.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a wide range of full-text reference books and encyclopedias across various subjects, perfect for in-depth research and study.
This online library has hundreds of reference titles for multi-disciplinary research, including subject-specific biographical sources, directories, encyclopedias, and other reference sources related to American and world history, biography, health, arts, business, travel, religion, and multicultural studies.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital library with over 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in diverse fields, ideal for research and scholarly exploration.
This archive is a collection of over 12 million full-text scholarly journal articles, e-books, periodicals, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Browse subject areas including Arts, Business & Economics, History, Humanities, Law, Medicine & Allied Health, Science & Mathematics, and Social Sciences. JSTOR is part of ITHAKA, a not-for-profit organization that also includes Artstor, Ithaka S+R, and Portico.
Springer Nature Link This link opens in a new window
Access Springer Nature's online collection of journals, e-books, reference works, and protocols across a vast range of disciplines in the physical sciences and humanities.
As part of Springer Nature, SpringerLink delivers fast access to the depth and breadth of their online collection of journals, e-books, reference works, and protocols across a vast range of subject disciplines, including biological sciences, business & management, chemistry, computer science, earth & environmental sciences, health science, humanities & social sciences, materials science, mathematics, physics & astronomy, statistics, and technology & engineering.
O'Reilly Learning Platform This link opens in a new window
Access a vast library of technical and business books, videos, and interactive courses, supporting learning in technology, programming, and professional development.
This collection of technology and business resources provides access to materials from over 200 publishers, including O'Reilly, Adobe, Cisco, McGraw-Hill, Microsoft, Pearson, and Wiley. It includes over 40,000 e-books, 2,000 audiobooks, 6,000 videos, self-paced courses, and curated topical playlists of content. Subjects covered include computer science, artificial intelligence (AI) & machine learning; business; career development; cybersecurity; data engineering & data science; design; programming languages; mobile, software, technology, and web development; and more.