E-Books at the University of Dayton

Purpose Statement: OhioLINK recognizes that the concepts of diversity, equity, and inclusion are an essential part of the consortium’s vision, commitment, and values. This collection is intended to be the first step towards developing a foundational understanding of these concepts, and is by no means comprehensive. We acknowledge the existence of perspectives outside of those reflected by this collection. When possible, materials for this collection have been selected based on their representation of authors’ lived experiences, relevance to current events (particularly materials published within the last three years), intersectional approaches, or contribution to fundamental knowledge of diversity, equity, and inclusion. Our intention is to create a growing collection which highlights the voices and experiences of underrepresented or marginalized identities, so that they may continue to inspire dialogue, action, and change. Our hope is that this collection offers OhioLINK members the tools to foster diverse communities, examine inequitable systems, and develop inclusive practices for teaching, learning, and research support. OhioLINK's e-book collection focuses on diversity, equity, and inclusion. Browse subjects including architecture and fine arts, business management and economics, education, geography, library science, health and medicine, history and political science, law, journalism and literature, philosophy and religion, social sciences, physical sciences, engineering, and mathematics. Content is provided through ProQuest Ebook Central; most books were published after 2017.

Formerly called NetLibrary, this collection provides full-text e-books covering a broad range of scholarly disciplines, including atmospheric, oceanic, and climate studies; arts and humanities; literature; biomedical, chemical, civil, electrical, computer, environmental, industrial systems, mechanical, and nuclear engineering; business; computer science; and materials science. Books range in audience level from basic introductory texts to scholarly monographs. Search the collection by title, author, subject or keyword, publication dates, and more. This platform operates on the library check-out model, where readers check out e-books for a specified amount of time.

This online library has hundreds of reference titles for multi-disciplinary research, including subject-specific biographical sources, directories, encyclopedias, and other reference sources related to American and world history, biography, health, arts, business, travel, religion, and multicultural studies.

The American Council of Learned Societies Humanities E-book Collection (ACLS HEB) is a collection of 5,700+ scholarly books from 125+ publishers. Michigan Publishing licenses included books, including investing in unique and otherwise hard to access backlist content.

This archive is a collection of over 12 million full-text scholarly journal articles, e-books, periodicals, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Browse subject areas including Arts, Business & Economics, History, Humanities, Law, Medicine & Allied Health, Science & Mathematics, and Social Sciences. JSTOR is part of ITHAKA, a not-for-profit organization that also includes Artstor, Ithaka S+R, and Portico.

E-books are DRM-free, downloadable as chapter PDFs, with no simultaneous user limit. Access the complete collection of more than 3,900 e-books from MIT Press. Subject areas covered include art and architecture, biomedical sciences, business and finance, computer science, cognitive science, design, education, environment, game studies, humanities, information science, linguistics, neuroscience, new media, philosophy, and social sciences. Dates of publication range from 1943 to the present. E-books are DRM-free, downloadable as chapter PDFs, with no simultaneous user limit. 

This collection of technology and business resources provides access to materials from over 200 publishers, including O'Reilly, Adobe, Cisco, McGraw-Hill, Microsoft, Pearson, and Wiley. It includes over 40,000 e-books, 2,000 audiobooks, 6,000 videos, self-paced courses, and curated topical playlists of content. Subjects covered include computer science, artificial intelligence (AI) & machine learning; business; career development; cybersecurity; data engineering & data science; design; programming languages; mobile, software, technology, and web development; and more.

The EBC provides access to more than 200,000 e-books. Titles feature reference works, American and English literature and technology titles purchased by Ohio academic libraries. Browse content in the following categories: architecture, art, Bibles, biography & autobiography, business & economics, computers, cooking, design, drama, education, family & relationships, fiction, foreign language study, games & activities, health & fitness, history, juvenile nonfiction, language arts, law, literary collections, literary criticism, mathematics, medical, music, nature, performing arts, pets, philosophy, photography, poetry, political science, psychology, reference, religion, science, self-help, social science, sports & recreation, technology & engineering, and young adult nonfiction.

Explore 50,000+ e-books and 500+ journals from Oxford University Press, University of California Press, NYU Press, and numerous other academic publishers. Titles are available for each of the OUP institutional book products: Financial and Banking Law; International Commercial Arbitration; International Commercial Law; Investment Claims; Oxford Clinical Psychology; Oxford Competition Law; Oxford Handbooks Online; Oxford Medicine Online; Oxford Scholarly Authorities on International Law; Oxford Scholarship Online; Private International Law; University Press Scholarship Online; and Very Short Introductions. Topics covered include medicine and health, science and mathematics, arts and humanities, social sciences, and law.

This full-text database of historically important humanities texts and translations have been edited for accuracy as well as modern scholarship. It includes complete works of selected thinkers as well as dictionaries and survey works that cover a wide range of philosophers and topics. Browse subjects such as classical, medieval, continental, British, and American philosophy; English letters; religious studies; social science and the history of science; Chinese classics; and Russian literature.

The University of Dayton selectively licenses e-book titles from ProQuest Ebook Central and provides full-text access to them from the ProQuest platform and in the UD Library Catalog. Subject coverage includes business & economics, computers & IT, education, engineering & technology, history & political science, the humanities, language, literature & linguistics, law, international relations & public policy, life sciences, medical, nursing & allied health, physical sciences, psychology & social work, religion, philosophy & classics, and sociology & anthropology.

This database provides access to more than 6,000 full text e-books covering the humanities and social sciences, including politics and international relations, economics and finance, engineering and technology, language and literature, law, and many more. 

Women Writers Online is a full-text collection of early women’s writing in English, published by the Women Writers Project at Northeastern University. It includes full transcriptions of 450+ texts published between 1526 and 1850, focusing on materials that are rare or inaccessible. Genre categories include non-fiction, verse, fiction, and drama.

This platform contains full-text World Book Encyclopedia articles, primary source collections, an atlas, a citation builder, a dictionary, educator tools, government websites, interactive maps, resource guides, timelines, world newspapers, and world resources. Text is in English, French, and Spanish.