Overview
UD Libraries provides all students, faculty and staff with access to hundreds of thousands of electronic books (e-books) across nearly all subject areas. All titles are provided to any UD user free of charge, and the vast majority can be downloaded as PDFs, while others can be viewed within a browser or on a personal reading device. These e-books are in addition to the 400,000+ print books that we provide.
Guide Highlights . . .
- How to find relevant e-books across UD's holdings,
- How to access (download/print/save) these e-books, and
- How to request titles when UD does not have it immediately available, either through OhioLINK or through Interlibrary Loan
Note: these collections are purchased by our library faculty and staff to support UD's research and instruction needs. If you are a UD faculty or staff member and feel that our collection is missing an important e-book that would help with your work or research, then please don't hesitate to contact us directly to suggest a purchase.
Quick Links
- UD Catalog This link opens in a new window
Connect to the University of Dayton Online Catalog to search for books and other materials held by the UD University Libraries.
- OhioLINK Electronic Book Center This link opens in a new window
Contains scholarly and reference electronic books purchased by Ohio academic libraries
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Includes thousands of titles including public-domain e-books. Operates on the library check-out model, where readers check out e-books for a specified amount of time.
- ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
UD selectively licenses e-book titles from ProQuest Ebook Central. Titles are searchable from the ProQuest platform and in the UD Library Catalog. - Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
An online library of hundreds of reference titles for multi-disciplinary research, including texts related to American and world history, biography, health, arts, business, travel, religion, and multicultural studies.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of over 12 million full-text articles, books, images (additional resources now included from Artstor), and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Limited recent content.
- Springer Nature Link This link opens in a new window
Contains scholarly journals & e-books published by Springer in science, technology, and medicine, as well as social sciences and humanities, & business and economics.
- O'Reilly Learning Platform This link opens in a new window
Books, videos, and online courses covering computer science, technology, and business. Now using UD logins. Contact customercare@oreilly.com with questions about retrieving playlists from your former account.
