What does UDiscover search?
UDiscover will search all of the EBSCOhost databases, the UD catalog, the OhioLINK catalog, eCommons, Archive-It, Alexander Street, Archives Unbound, Directory of Open Access Journals, Emerald Insight, Gale eBooks, Government Printing Office Catalog, Grove Art Online, IEEE Xplore Digital Library, IPA Source, Mergent Online, Mintel Oxygen Reports, Naxos Music Library, OAIster, Open Dissertations, Oxford Reference, Oxford Scholarship Online, JSTOR Journals, Open Textbook Library, ProjectMUSE, PsychiatryOnline, Springer Nature eBooks and Journals, University Press Scholarship Online, Women Writers Online and much more!
What's NOT included in UDiscover?
While UDiscover indexes many of the libraries' subscribed databases, it does not cover all of them. Here is a list of databases that are not included in UDiscover.
Although these databases may not be indexed, EBSCO does have some partnerships at the journal publisher level, so some records indexed in those databases could still show in UDiscover search results and would be linked through the "Find It!" button.
You should search these databases individually in order to access their content. If you are off-campus, you will need to enter your UD username and password to connect.
- American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
This database contains over 1,100 periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
- AP Stylebook This link opens in a new window
This online AP Stylebook for media writing contains everything from the print version plus regular updates, custom University of Dayton entries and the full archive of "Ask the Editor." - Bizminer This link opens in a new window
Startup and small business statistics, such as annual sales and market share, failure rates, & entrepreneurial activity rates. Reports available for states and local areas as well as the national level. Data includes access to 9000+ markets and more than 10 million companies.
- British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Full-text of the periodical press in Britain from its origins in the seventeenth century through to the Victorian age of periodicals and beyond with coverage dates of 1680s to 1930s. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
- CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is the world’s largest online resource of documents and articles devoted to research, analysis, and scholarship on international politics and related fields, including security studies, global finance, diplomatic practice, humanitarian law, global governance, development studies, and environmental studies. - Education Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
An archive of magazines in the field of education, ranging from 1910-2015. The publications are aimed at teachers and other educational professionals and constitute valuable primary sources through which the evolution of educational policy, practice, and theory during this period may be delineated and interpreted. This content also pertains strongly to several related fields such as social history, psychology, and childhood studies. - GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
This is a database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports. - GuideStar This link opens in a new window
GuideStar gathers, organizes, and distributes information about U.S nonprofits. Searching features include geography, organization type, and financials. - History Vault This link opens in a new window
Primary source materials from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collection. Includes letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, and diaries. Features the Struggle for Women's Rights, Organizational Records, 1880-1990 Collection. - PhilPapers This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. Content includes journals, books, and open access archives. - ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Collection of Congressional materials, including hearings, documents, reports, committee prints, with coverage primarily from 1824 to present. Also contains the Serial Set and maps from 1789 to present.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window
Indexes doctoral dissertations and master's theses from over 1,000 North American and European universities with coverage from 1861. Also includes abstracts, 24 page previews, & the option to purchase the full text.
- Religious Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
A searchable archive of magazines devoted to religious topics, spanning 19th-21st centuries, represented by a wide variety of religions and denominations. Coverage ranges from 1845 to 2015. - SageData This link opens in a new window
Note: access is available for content that predates 12/31/21; any content from 01/01/2022 - present is unavailable. A dynamic tool to scan and search the contents of billions of datasets from the United States. Compare and contrast variables of interest and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources. Datasets cover a wide range of subjects – including business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy resources and industries, and more.
- CAS SciFinder This link opens in a new window
Chemical Abstracts literature from 1902 to the present. For UD students, staff & faculty only. UDRI employees are not eligible to use this database. New Users must register for an account with their UD email address.
- SBRnet This link opens in a new window
Featuring the Sports Market Analytics Platform, this resource is a comprehensive platform of nationwide sports business analytics, using syndicated and custom proprietary research for professional and college sports, as well as sports participation and equipment sales information. Data is driven from consumer research, industry reports, and licensed industry articles. - Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Generates maps, data visuallizations, and spreadsheets of Census data from 1790-2010. Additional data available up to the 2020 census.
- NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Updated daily. Provides a comprehensive, professional source of investment information and analysis on industries and companies. Full text coverage includes stock, bond, and mutual fund guides and reports; earnings and dividends reports; comprehensive company information; industry surveys for 52 major U.S. industries; and directories of companies, executives and security dealers
- Statista This link opens in a new window
Providing statistical data for over 170 industries in 50 countries.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive syntheses of evidence along with point of care recommendations including current drug information, medical calculators, and patient education handouts.
Content Providers
Use the Content Provider facet at the bottom of the left sidebar to limit your results to a specific database. You may also see Complementary Index or Supplemental Index listed as Content Provider options:
Complementary Index
This represents full text supplied by primary publishers for searching. Full-text will not display without a subscription and provides content that is not in other content providers’ data sets or via full-text databases. Publishers included in this data set include Elsevier, Wiley, Springer, Taylor & Francis, Sage, Nature Publishing, ACM, Oxford, Cambridge, and thousands of others. The file includes journals, books, proceedings, and more.
Supplemental Index
This includes EBSCO-enhanced metadata for journals and magazines (including peer-reviewed journals) not available in Academic Search or Business Source, as well as books, newspapers, and more. This is not metadata from subject indexes which need a subscription to be included in UDiscover.
