Library Guides: Education Research: Overview

Overview

Welcome to the University of Dayton Libraries' guide to education research. Choose from the tabs on the left-side of the screen to explore the many resources and services available to support your research project or assignment.

Questions? Comments? Wish to schedule a research consultation? Contact the education librarian or schedule a consultation using our online calendar.

Guide Highlights . . .

This guide provides resources and tutorials to help you accomplish the following:

Locate relevant reference sources to research background information on your topic.
Find scholarly or popular books, whether in print or e-book format, on your topic.
Find journal articles within a selection of key education databases, providing tutorials on how to search within these databases.
Create and manage a search strategy.
Learn how to keep track of your references using a citation manager.

Quick Links

UDiscover This link opens in a new window
A search tool that lets you retrieve all types of research sources with one search. If you're looking for a variety of sources on your topic, or you're just getting started, UDiscover can help you access more information at once than ever before. It has a Google-like relevancy ranking, but helps you locate scholarly resources.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, it is an essential tool for education researchers of all kinds. It includes almost 600,000 full-text links for a variety of source types, including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, dissertations and policy papers.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains over 1,200 journals and 500 books on education from early childhood to higher education.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A vast collection of full-text academic journals, magazines, and other resources across multiple disciplines, supporting comprehensive research needs.
This multidisciplinary resource includes full-text, peer-reviewed journals, periodicals and magazines. Also included are more than 75,000 videos from the Associated Press, including footage from 1930-present. This database offers indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings dating as far back as 1865, with the majority of titles in searchable PDF format.
OhioLINK Electronic Book Center This link opens in a new window
Contains scholarly and reference electronic books purchased by Ohio academic libraries
UD Catalog This link opens in a new window
Connect to the University of Dayton Online Catalog to search for books and other materials held by the UD University Libraries.
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
A magazine with weekly news & job listings for university faculty & administrators. Electronic version of the print publication. Archival content back to 2015.