Library Guides: Education Research: Find Theses and Dissertations

Finding Theses and Disssertations

eCommons UD Theses and Dissertations
Many UD theses and dissertations have been digitized and are now freely available in UD's open-access institutional repository, eCommons.

Search tip: Many other universities also have institutional repositories which include theses and dissertations completed at their institution.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window
Access dissertations and theses from universities worldwide, supporting research across various academic disciplines and promoting scholarly communication.
Indexes doctoral dissertations and master's theses from over 1,000 North American and European universities with coverage from 1743 to the present day. Also includes abstracts, 24 page previews, and the option to purchase the full text. Subject areas include arts, business & economics, education, humanities, social sciences, behavioral sciences, natural sciences, mathematics & physical sciences, and health & medical sciences.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
A freely accessible search engine providing scholarly articles, theses, books, and conference papers across various disciplines, facilitating academic research and citation tracking.
This database searches across a wide range of scholarly literature from around the world, including journals, books, theses, dissertations, conference papers, preprints, and technical reports. Sources include academic publishers, professional societies, university repositories, and other scholarly websites. Subject areas include agriculture, plant, & animal sciences; anthropology; art, art history, & architecture; biological, biomedical, and pharmaceutical sciences; childhood studies, communication; computer and library & information science; criminal justice; East Asian studies; engineering; geography; health professions; linguistics; math & statistics; nursing; patents & trademarks; planning, public policy, & public administration; psychology & behavioral sciences; public health; social work; sociology; and urban studies.

Search tip: Place the dissertation title in quotation marks in the search bar.

OhioLINK Electronic Theses & Dissertations Center This link opens in a new window
A digital repository providing access to theses and dissertations from Ohio universities, supporting research and scholarship across various academic disciplines.
This collection contains over 58,000 full text doctoral dissertations, masters' theses and undergraduate honors theses from 31 of Ohio's world-renowned academic institutions, including the University of Dayton. Users may search the full text of these publications or browse by institution, department, or author.
WorldCat Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of global dissertations and theses, offering millions of records and full-text access to scholarly research across disciplines.
This online database provides access to a vast collection of dissertations and theses from institutions worldwide, encompassing millions of records. It includes both citations and full-text documents, allowing users to explore a wide range of academic research across various disciplines. Users can find works published from 1743 to the present, with a significant focus on those produced since 1980. The database features abstracts for dissertations and master's theses, facilitating easier access to key research findings. Many documents are available in full text, especially those published after 1997, which can be downloaded directly. Additionally, the platform offers links to open-access copies when available and provides information on which libraries hold specific works. This resource is essential for researchers, students, and academics seeking comprehensive scholarly materials to support their studies and inquiries.