Databases for Background Info
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a wide range of full-text reference books and encyclopedias across various subjects, perfect for in-depth research and study.
- Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
Provides peer-reviewed, in-depth articles across diverse academic fields, ideal for comprehensive background research and foundational insights on complex topics.
- Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new window
Concise introductions to a diverse range of subject areas written by experts in the fields of Arts & Humanities, Law, Medicine & Health, Science & Mathematics, and Social Sciences.
Featured Encyclopedia Titles
Bilingual and Multilingual Education by ISBN: 9783319022581Publication Date: 2017-01-03In this third, fully revised edition, the 10 volume Encyclopedia of Language and Education offers the newest developments, including an entirely new volume of research and scholarly content, essential to the field of language teaching and learning in the age of globalization. In the selection of topics and contributors, the Encyclopedia reflects the depth of disciplinary knowledge, breadth of interdisciplinary perspective, and diversity of socio-geographic experience in the language and education field. Throughout, there is an inclusion of contributions from non-English speaking and non-western parts of the world, providing truly global coverage.
Early Childhood Education by ISBN: 9780313331008Publication Date: 2007-01-01As a groundbreaking contribution to its field, this four-volume handbook discusses key historical and contemporary issues, research, theoretical perspectives, national policies, and practices. A wealth of information provides the user with up-to-date expert entries on a plethora of topics. Over three hundred entries in volumes 1, 2, and 3 cover such topics as: accountability assessment biculturalism bullying child abuse early intervention ethnicity Head Start No Child Left Behind Zero to three
Encyclopedia of Diversity in Education by ISBN: 9781412981538Publication Date: 2012With 695 signed entries with cross-references and recommended readings, the Encyclopedia of Diversity in Education, Four-Volume Set, in both print and electronic formats, presents research and statistics, case studies and best practices, policies and programs at pre- and post-secondary levels. Diversity is a worldwide phenomenon, and while most of the entries in the Encyclopedia will focus on the United States, diversity issues and developments in nations around the world, including the United States, are intricately connected.
Encyclopedia of Education by ISBN: 0028658825Publication Date: 2004-02-01This fully-revised second edition offers a complete view of the institutions, people, processes, roles and philosophies found in educational practice in the United States and throughout the world. Features include 121 biographies of influential educators; profiles of historic colleges and universities; profiles of organizations active in the field; and an appendix of full text primary source documents including education related legislation, international treaties and testing methods.
Encyclopedia of Educational Theory and Philosophy by ISBN: 9781483346212Publication Date: 2014-01-01Education is a field sometimes beset by theories-of-the-day and with easy panaceas that overpromise the degree to which they can alleviate pressing educational problems. The two-volume Encyclopedia of Educational Theory and Philosophy introduces readers to theories that have stood the test of time and those that have provided the historical foundation for the best of contemporary educational theory and practice. Drawing together a team of international scholars, this invaluable reference examines the global landscape of all the key theories and the theorists behind them and presents them in the context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses.
The Encyclopedia of Learning Disabilities by ISBN: 9780816064007Publication Date: 2006-10-01With more than 650 entries, this title serves as a guide to various types of learning disabilities, including how they function, how they can be diagnosed, and how they can be treated. Entries include: adaptive skills, assistive technology, bipolar disorder, child disintegrative disorder, dioxins, traumatic brain injury, and Williams Syndrome.
Encyclopedia of Mathematics Education by ISBN: 9783030157890Publication Date: 2020Covering the full spectrum of topics in mathematics education, this resource provides access to theories and to research in the area and refers to leading publications for further reading
Encyclopedia of Science Education by ISBN: 9400721501Publication Date: 2015-01-03The Encyclopedia of Science Education provides a comprehensive international reference work covering the range of methodologies, perspectives, foci, and cultures of this field of inquiry, and to do so via contributions from leading researchers from around the globe. Because of the frequent ways in which scholarship in science education has led to developments in other curriculum areas, the encyclopedia has significance beyond the field of science education. The Encyclopedia of Science Education is aimed at graduate students, researchers, developers in science education and science education research. The topics to be covered encompass all areas of science education and it includes biographical entries on science educators, as well as educators whose work has had an impact on science education as a research field.
Encyclopedia of teacher education by ISBN: 9789811686795Publication Date: 2022This encyclopaedia is a dynamic and living reference that student teachers, teacher educators, researchers and professionals in the field of education with an accent on all aspects of teacher education, including: teaching practice; initial teacher education; teacher induction; teacher development; professional learning; teacher education policies; quality assurance; professional knowledge, standards and organisations; teacher ethics; and research on teacher education, among other issues. The Encyclopedia is an authoritative work by a collective of leading world scholars representing different cultures and traditions, the global policy convergence and counter-practices relating to the teacher education profession. The accent will be equally on teaching practice and practitioner knowledge, skills and understanding as well as current research, models and approaches to teacher education
The International Encyclopedia of Higher Education Systems and Institutions by ISBN: 9789401789059Publication Date: 2019-07-29This authoritative reference source covers all higher education themes in a comprehensive, accessible and comparative way. It maps the field for the twenty first century reflecting the massive changes that have occurred and the challenges ahead for future research. It provides a rich diversity of scholarly perspectives and covers the entire spectrum of higher education from a geographical, a topical and disciplinary perspective. It is unrivaled in its capacity to go beyond national boundaries and provides indispensible comparative analyses.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Contemporary Early Childhood EducationISBN: 9781483340340Presents advanced research, accurate practical applications of research, historical foundations and key facts from the field of contemporary early childhood education. Includes all areas of child development - physical, cognitive, language, social, emotional, aesthetic - as well as a review of best educational practices with young children, effective preparation for early childhood professionals and policy making practices.
The SAGE encyclopedia of educational research, measurement, and evaluation by ISBN: 9781506326146Publication Date: 2018This book covers the basics of traditional educational testing, measurement, and evaluation theory and methodology, as well as sociopolitical issues and trends influencing the future of that research and practice
Sample Searches (Topic Starters)
Explore the following list of topics to locate relevant encyclopedias and other background information sources for your topic(s)
- Education encyclopedias
- Teacher education encyclopedias
- Topic starters. These searches focus on books, e-books, and streaming videos for broad topic areas. They are a great place to start:
- Learning and scholarship
- Literacy
- Mainstreaming in education
- Mentoring in education
- Middle class Education
- Moral education
- Multicultural education
- Progressive education
- Teachers
- Students
- Women in education
- Special education -- United States
- Minorities -- Education -- United States
- Teacher effectiveness
- Gifted children -- Education
- Art -- Study and teaching
- Common Core State Standards (Education)
- After-school programs
- Grade repetition
- Science -- Study and teaching
- Mathematics -- Study and teaching
- Academic achievement -- United States
- Educational equalization -- United States
