Digital Pedagogy Librarian
Digital Assignment Formats
This page provides information about common types of digital assignments, with resources that describe common techniques and applications of technology in teaching and learning.
There are many formats and activities available for digital assignments, many of which are transferrable among disciplines, frameworks, and assignment types, and which can incorporate a range of media. Common formats include:
- Audio and Video
- Web Publications
- Data Visualization, Graphics, and Visual Projects
- Maps and Timelines
- Annotations
- Text Analysis
- Exhibits and Collections
Assignments of many formats incorporate methods of digital storytelling in the presentation of research and knowledge.
- Digital Assignment GuidesA resource from Princeton University's McGraw Center for Teaching and Learning providing overviews and examples of common digital assignment formats.
- Assignments & Teaching MaterialsLinks to digital assignments and related material available for reuse and repurposing in undergraduate classrooms.
Audio and Video
- Digital Storytelling with Audio and VideoAn overview of audio and video projects and assignments.
- Podcasting AssignmentsAn article from Princeton University's McGraw Center for Teaching & Learning; defines types of podcasting assignments, lists learning goals and considerations, suggests tools, and includes links to examples, rubrics, and related resources.
- Teaching PodcastingA curriculum guide from NPR, provides insight into the workload and process of podcasting assignments.
- Video AssignmentsAn article from Princeton University's McGraw Center for Teaching & Learning; describes types of video assignments, lists learning goals and considerations, suggests tools, and includes links to examples, rubrics, and related resources.
Web Publications
- The Asynchronous Cookbook: Writing, Storytelling, and PublishingA book chapter providing an overview of digital writing assignments, including journals, blogs, and collaborative textbooks.
- Creating Web AssignmentsOverview and guide to new web assignments.
- StoryMapsAn overview of StoryMaps, including examples of work completed by UD students in capstone projects.
- Teaching with BlogsOverview of blogs and considerations for blogging assignments.
- WikisOverview of wikis and wiki-based assignments.
Data Visualization, Graphics, and Visual Projects
- Data VisualizationAn overview of data visualization for teaching and learning.
- Creating an Infographic AssignmentOverview and guide to implementing infographic assignments.
Maps and Timelines
- Digital TimelinesOverview of digital timelines and types of timeline assignments.
- Creating Digital Stories with TimelineJSA detailed description of digital timeline assignment design, implementation, and assessment.
- The Asynchronous Cookbook: Mapping ActivitiesA chapter providing an overview and steps to develop geographical and concept mapping assignments.
Annotation
- Teaching Source Annotation in Digital SpacesSuggestions for teaching annotation of digital text, images, and videos.
- Social Annotation ActivitiesSuggested uses of social annotation for learning in STEM, business, social sciences, humanities, law, and more. This article is from a product website, but provides useful insights and information
- Collaborative AnnotationOverview of collaborative annotation activities and tools.
- Video AnnotationSuggested uses of video annotation for teaching and learning. This article is from a product website, but provides useful insights and information.
Text Analysis
- Text AnalysisAn overview of Voyant for text analysis from SDSU.
- Text Analysis AssignmentsAn overview of key considerations and relevant tools for text analysis assignments.
- Text Mining Methods and ToolsA guide from University of Delaware detailing the process of a text mining project.
Digital Exhibits and Collections
- Teaching with Online ExhibitsAn article from Princeton University's McGraw Center for Teaching & Learning addressing the use of digital exhibits as capstone assignments and as curricular models.
- ePortfolios: Theory and PracticeA detailed overview of ePortfolios as digital collections and reflective assignments.
- Teaching with OmekaOverview of digital archive assignments built with Omeka, including considerations and learning outcomes.
