Digital Pedagogy Librarian
Digital Assignments and Teaching Materials
This section provides links to digital assignments, rubrics, and supportive teaching materials. Many of these materials have been made publicly available by educators and educational institutions and published as open educational resources.
It is important to cite assignments when using or remixing them for your classes. Some resources will include a suggested citation and licensing/reuse details. For those that do not, please follow standard citation practices and copyright/fair use considerations.
Assignment Collections
- The Asynchronous CookbookFrom Middlebury College, a Creative-Commons licensed book including assignments in a range of digital formats. Applicable to synchronous and asynchronous classrooms of many disciplines.
- DHSS Assignment GuidesA section of the Doing Digital Humanities and Social Sciences in Your Classroom eBook; provides assignment guides in 9 formats.
- Digital Assignments in the Classroom: A Crash Course GuideA guide providing sample digital assignments of that are adaptable to many disciplines and course modalities.
- Digital Pedagogy in the HumanitiesA peer-reviewed, curated collection of resources for teaching and research. Many sections include assignments and classroom activities of varying scope and topic.
- Journal of Interactive Pedagogy: AssignmentsA growing volume of the JITP journal providing digital assignments from many disciplines. Each article includes background information and reflection on teaching with the assignment.
- Rethinking Assessment Strategies for Online Learning: Exemplar CollectionA collection of digital assignments contributed by educators, organized by discipline. Each assignment includes recommended course levels, assignment summaries, and learning outcomes, and many provide assignment and rubrics as PDFs.
- Using DH in the Classroom: Assignment SetsSeven sample assignment sets, each with a downloadable assignment sheet and rubric. Includes recommendations for tools; intended for humanities courses.
- Writing Spaces Activities & Assignments ArchiveAn open access companion resource to the Writing Spaces textbook series; includes many assignments and activities that engage digital technologies for reading and writing.
- Xavier University Digital Pedagogy GuideA set of templates for several digital assignment templates, along with rubric and example of each template as used in teaching.
Rubrics
- Mapping Assignment RubricsSample rubrics for basic and complex maps and for maps used as part of a multimedia assignment.
- Creating and Using Rubrics for AssessmentLinks to rubrics for many types of assignments, including online discussions, ePortfolios, web pages, multimedia projects, and various digital presentation mediums.
- Wiki Rubric - From WikipediaA rubric from Wikipedia with evaluation criteria for introductory, body, and citation contributions.
- Oral Communication VALUE RubricRubric intended for discussing student learning and institutional evaluation, with criteria that may be applicable to video, audio, and presentation assignments.
- Evaluating Student Work (Book Chapter)From Using Digital Humanities in the Classroom, a brief chapter about rubrics and grading techniques for student work. Includes links to assignments with rubrics.
